Poppy's Chocolate Puddin' Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I just made the pudding. It was great while still warm, but upon cooling picked up a very weird smell and aftertaste....I think it's the egg yolks. I would make this again, but without the egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This pie did NOT work for me either. It was not even near thick enough and I went past pudding consistancy. I didn't like the taste either. Not enough sweet and chocolate taste and it just wasn't worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Didn't work to well for me. Part of the problem might be the phrase "Over medium heat, and stirring constantly, cook until it reaches pudding thickness". Pudding thickness BEFORE setting, or AFTER. I'm guessing AFTER, since before still ended up being a soupy (though pretty tasty) mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I was looking for a pie I could make with what I had on hand. So I did this one. It is great. Eight people inculding myself all loved this pie. The only thing I changed was I added 2 extra tablesooons of sugar to the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I made this last week for my boyfriend, and he liked it so much that he shared it with his mom and sister. Tonight, I made one for each of them...it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This pie doesn't taste bad, but it's not amazing. The centre is nothing but ordinary chocolate custard. It loses any points for simplicity because of the effort you have to go into to make the meringue. However it's good because it doesn't use real chocolate so you can use the cocoa you have on hand. I think if you are going to spend time making meringue for a pie you might as well make a good centre for it. The custard isn't really worth it. But it's good just as custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
This pie was really good, but I dipped my pinkie in to test it before eggs, etc were added and decided it needed about 4-5 tablespoons more sugar. Just a suggestion in case your taste calls for more or less. Any pudding that doesn't fit in the pie shell is great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This pie is great! Very easy and delicious.I used cool-whip instead of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States