Poppy Seed Pound Cake Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
These are good little muffins - next time I make them, I'm going to substitute lemon extract for the vanilla. I love lemon & poppy seed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hebegbe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I needed to use up some yogurt, so I used a little bit more than 1 cup and compensated for it with one packet of vanilla pudding which I added to the flour. Instead of vanilla extract, I used orange aroma. I baked the batter in a bundt pan and the cake is very moist. I also mixed some sugar with blood-orange juice and iced the cake with it. I like the recipe and I am sure I will make it when I have some yogurt again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Refreshing, lovely flavor! Used lemon juice instead of extract and added a little lemon zest as well. Turned out well. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I actually didn't have any problems with the recipe. Maybe others used more flour than I did (spoon it lightly into measuring cup, then level - otherwise you may end up with more than the recipe intended.) Also, please remember this is a pound cake; pound cakes have thicker batter than your average muffin. I only had lemon flavored yogurt, so I used it and added a teaspoon of lemon extract to the batter and made "lemon poppy seed" muffins. I also used half AP flour and half whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little bit healthier. The recipe as written made 4 dozen mini muffins, cooked for 17 minutes at 375deg (my mistake on the temp, but it turned out fine.) Now my daughter keeps asking to eat them, swearing she can't help it because "they're addictive". UPDATE: this was also great with plain yogurt and vanilla extract, as written, and plain yogurt and almond extract (with almonds on top). But I find these cook better (in my oven) at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were delicious right out of the oven! However, if they are not consumed the same day, they do tend to dry up. I personally did not tweak the recipe, but it appears other reviewers have in order to add a bit more moisture. Perhaps adding some lemon juice would add a bit more flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Yummy flavor but needs more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYTRACKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My daughter and I tried this one and felt the batter, as others have said, didn't have enough moisture. We added a little buttermilk and gave it a shot. Just not what we expected. Smothered with butter when they came out of the oven to give some more moisture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pres. of household

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Overall, nice flavor, but a litte dry without tweaking. I had to add more liquid in order to make them more moist; used less sugar; and added more poppy seeds. Still, all in all, a nice change from the whole wheat bran muffin AND my 2 yr old didn't complain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Yum! I found these looking for a recipe to use up some yogurt. I made them for my son's day care providers and they raved! It's definitely a stretch to call these muffins - they are rich and sweet! I save them for dessert. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Very tasty. I'll add more poppy seed next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States