Poppy Seed Poultry Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I can't say enough good things about this dish--we LOVE it!!! Definitely add some milk (I added 3/4 of a soup can). I boiled 1.5 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts in a 3 qt pot of water with 3 chicken bouillon cubes, some garlic powder, paprika, cayenne pepper, and seasoning salt until tender for about 1 hour (bring to boil and reduce heat to med-high). When chicken was done, I drained broth and shredded using two forks---it's so tender this way!!!! Used basmati rice and cooked while chicken was cooking. Added extra dill, and seasoned with seasoning salt and pepper to suit our tastes. Used extra Ritz on top--they're so yummy! Also, sauteed some celery and onion in olive oil and added to the mixture. PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I can't believe this has so much flavor - and I didn't have poppy seeds. Like other reviewers suggested, I added 3/4 cup of milk, it's easier for my kids to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Great way to use up leftovers. I omitted the soup (can't do soybean) and added one very hastily chopped chicken boullion cube. Used a can of chicken that has been sitting on the shelf. Didn't have butter crackers, so I sauteed the stale Saltines some tiny child twirling through the house had left behind. My husband, who hates everything, declared that he liked it. Except the dill. But I liked the dill. Good show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Easy to make and my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I make a recipe similar to this. Instead of regular rice I use Rice a Roni (Fried Rice Flavor). You prepare the Rice a Roni like it says on the box. I do not add dill. I always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I love poppy seed chicken, and this recipe is a good one. I think I may add some veggies into the casserole next time, to make it more of an all-in-one meal. Other than that, no changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Stancil

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was SCRUMPTIOUS! I made a 9x13 pan of this and it was GONE fast! I just used the lowfat cream of chicken soup and lowfat sourcream and didn't change anything else. To die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I've had regular poppy seed chicken casserole before and I have to say, I like it a bit better than this recipe. The thing that got me was the dill weed smell. I've made monkey bread for the dill weed before and it made me think I was eating that instead. But other than that, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcewen, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
My family loves this recipe! I used lower fat/reduced calorie options and brown rice and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I follow this recipe exactly and always get rave reviews. It's delicious served with rolls and a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnsboro, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States