Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Changes: reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups; omitted glaze due to lack of time before bake sale. These are pretty good! I'm not an expert in poppy seed muffins but I liked these. They look good too. Make sure you fill the muffin cups just short of full. The fuller they are, the rounder the muffins will be, and they don't overflow. As another reviewer mentioned, combine dry and wet ingredients separately, then just fold together, batter will be super lumpy but this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I have made these twice, and both times, the flavor has been great! However, they do come out very dense and not at all fluffy and light like they should. That could be me doing something wrong, but as long as they taste good, I'm not too bothered. The only changes I've made have been to increase the almond flavoring in the batter (Though the particular one I'm using has a weaker flavor than others might), and to reduce the sugar and oil. They're still quite sweet with the reduced sugar, and if I added the full amount of oil, they would come out very greasy. I have not made the glaze included in this recipe, nor made it into a loaf, but as is, the muffins are pretty good. Maybe a few tweaks here and there would bring out the best in them, but they're still a go-to for when I'm craving poppy seed deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Way too oily and sugary. The outsides were crisp and super sticky to the sides of the muffin pan. I tried them with paper liners as well and the paper just pulled half the muffin off with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
So, so sweet. No need for a glaze at all. Texture it's spot on but I'd advise 2/3 of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe after reading the reviews. I loved the dense texture. I increased the poppyseeds to 2 tbsp., lowered the sugar to 1 3/4 C., added zest of a lemon and it's juice. Left out the Almond extract to achieve a lemon poppyseed muffin. Mixed the wet ingred. with the dry, stirring just until mixed. Recipe yielded 20 muffins, and baked for prescribed time of 20 min. I will bake these again but I will use canola vegetable oil in place of the olive oil, and I will spray my paper muffin cups with Pam, as they stuck to the paper. They still needed a stronger lemon flavor for me, as I do not wish the topping, so I will add lemon extract as well. A nice recipe all in all. Thank you Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious, this is definitely a keeper. I make a lot of muffins and these did not disappoint. I used butter instead of oil which might have made a difference, but I think they are probably just as good with oil. If they don't turn out perfectly delicious for you, you are doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
The most delicious muffins I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Here are the things you must know to make these very good muffins: 1. Do not underbake! I used a convection oven, didn't reduce the temperature, and baked these for 25 minutes. Baking for 20 minutes as specified resulted in half-baked muffins. 2. Wait for the muffins to be just slightly warm before dipping in the room temperature glaze. I found dipping to be superior to drizzling the glaze over the tops - the latter resulted in saturated, overly sweet muffins. 3. Remember to take a picture of the four (I mean three) surviving muffins before snarfing them down! 4. I think when making a new muffin recipe I will try making 5 (four at each corner and one in a middle-ish cup) rather than all twelve on the first run so if I need to adjust oven temperature or baking time I can figure that out before using the majority of the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by disorderlyCNA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
They were great, even without the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe has great ingredients but ignores muffin mixing technique: mix the dry, mix the wet, stir the wet (and the poppyseeds) into the dry with as few strokes as possible, getting all the flour up from the bottom but ignring small lumps. Mixed this way, it's perfect. I used mini-muffun pans (2/3 recipe makes 48 mini-muffins) and baked 14-15 minutes, untl they started to brown around the edges bot the tops were NOT brown. If you make mini-muffins, fix the glaze first, so it's usably cool by the time you're ready for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States