Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I just made these today and was hesitant about the amount of sugar and oil needed after putting it all in my mixing bowl... however, the muffins turned out pretty darn good. I mixed everything like it says and used my KitchenAid and let it mix while I put my fridge stuff away. I used my 3 Tbsp scoop, adding 2 scoops to each muffin tin and ended up with 30 full muffins and one 3/4 muffin. All of them puffed up beautifully and were toothpick ready after 18-20 minutes in my oven. They're not brown on top, but I think if I had waited for that they would have been better door stops... this way they're soft, moist, and yummy. Next time I think I will reduce the sugar and maybe try the oil/applesauce mix instead of just oil just because it makes me feel better LOL. I didn't do the glaze, I think they're great without it but I don't have a sweet tooth... Great recipe, going in my cookbook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rainier, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These were just ok. Too much oil in my opinion, not a good fluffy cake or muffin. Dense and had an oily/eggy taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sumas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These were delicious!! Texture was amazing! I used 1 and 1/2 cups sugar and they were still very sweet. But wonderful! I didn't make the glaze because I though they were sweet enough. I also topped them with sliced almonds which made them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Changes: reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups; omitted glaze due to lack of time before bake sale. These are pretty good! I'm not an expert in poppy seed muffins but I liked these. They look good too. Make sure you fill the muffin cups just short of full. The fuller they are, the rounder the muffins will be, and they don't overflow. As another reviewer mentioned, combine dry and wet ingredients separately, then just fold together, batter will be super lumpy but this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I have made these twice, and both times, the flavor has been great! However, they do come out very dense and not at all fluffy and light like they should. That could be me doing something wrong, but as long as they taste good, I'm not too bothered. The only changes I've made have been to increase the almond flavoring in the batter (Though the particular one I'm using has a weaker flavor than others might), and to reduce the sugar and oil. They're still quite sweet with the reduced sugar, and if I added the full amount of oil, they would come out very greasy. I have not made the glaze included in this recipe, nor made it into a loaf, but as is, the muffins are pretty good. Maybe a few tweaks here and there would bring out the best in them, but they're still a go-to for when I'm craving poppy seed deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Way too oily and sugary. The outsides were crisp and super sticky to the sides of the muffin pan. I tried them with paper liners as well and the paper just pulled half the muffin off with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
So, so sweet. No need for a glaze at all. Texture it's spot on but I'd advise 2/3 of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe after reading the reviews. I loved the dense texture. I increased the poppyseeds to 2 tbsp., lowered the sugar to 1 3/4 C., added zest of a lemon and it's juice. Left out the Almond extract to achieve a lemon poppyseed muffin. Mixed the wet ingred. with the dry, stirring just until mixed. Recipe yielded 20 muffins, and baked for prescribed time of 20 min. I will bake these again but I will use canola vegetable oil in place of the olive oil, and I will spray my paper muffin cups with Pam, as they stuck to the paper. They still needed a stronger lemon flavor for me, as I do not wish the topping, so I will add lemon extract as well. A nice recipe all in all. Thank you Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious, this is definitely a keeper. I make a lot of muffins and these did not disappoint. I used butter instead of oil which might have made a difference, but I think they are probably just as good with oil. If they don't turn out perfectly delicious for you, you are doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
The most delicious muffins I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States