Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
These are amazing muffins. I made them using half the oil & half applesauce. I tried all applesauce but they didn't cook right. Half and half is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
The flavor of these muffins was fabulous(!) but I believe you must be very, very careful not to mix and/or bake them too much--the texture on mine was very heavy and the bottoms almost rubbery. I will make them again because of the flavor...but try to improve on the texture. I gave this five stars because I don't think it's the recipe with the problem--it's me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
These turned out perfectly for me. I mixed all the wet ingredients first, and then folded in the dry ingredients, making sure not to mix too much. The batter should be very very lumpy!!! (I was tempted to mix more, but I didn't, so it turned out really well with a muffin rather than cake consistency.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love poppy seed muffins and this recipe was no exception. Thanks to the previous reviewers, I decreased sugar to about 1 3/4 cup. They were still VERY sweet; next time I'll cut it back to 1 1/2 cups. I was out of orange juice, and used apple juice instead and didn't notice a difference from usual. My kids LOVED these. For me, the batch yielded 24 'regular' sized muffins and they baked for 17 minutes a batch. Like others have said, the glaze truly is 'the icing on the cake.' The flavor is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These are oily, greasy, dense almond poppyseed cakes. They do not resemble muffins at all. There is way too much oil. They were sunken in the middle instead of rounded out. I make muffins every week and was looking forward to trying this recipe but I can say that I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I used egg substitute and the recipe still turned out fabulously. I had to be careful not to cook them for too long, however. Don't wait until they look golden brown or they will have a more dense and rubbery texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious! Very moist and a nice flavor. It made lots of muffins. I added some lemon extract and that added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
The glaze is the key to this recipe. If you make the muffin without the glaze, it's not particularly amazing. I made them with the glaze for a brunch with friends and they were gone immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Excellent! Our kids love these. I do not use the glaze at all and they are so moist and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
I have been searching for a poppyseed muffin recipe since my favorite bakery closed! I love them, and so does everyone else. The recipe makes about 20 regular muffins and a small loaf! They are better the second day, after the glaze soaks in, mmm. Third day? There wasn't a third day for these muffins! The kids love to make homemade desserts-this recipe is on their list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States