Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I made them lemony--I doubled the recipe and added the rind of 2 lemons, and used lemon extract where it says to use almond. I also used fresh lemon juice instead of orange for the glze. These made great Welcome muffins for new neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These are great. They are quite rich-a good treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
these are excellent! my picky kids ate them all and fought over the last one! my husband loved them as well and he usually doesn't like poppy seed muffins. the glaze is great, and i definitely would be making these again and again. i have made these many times and the loave with fresh lemon juice used in the glaze instead of orange is by far my favorite, though all versions are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These were quite good. Based on the other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1-1/4 cups - and they turned out slightly sweet as I like them. I also increased the poppy seeds to 2 t instead of 1-1/2 t. I did not do the glaze as I don't want these to be too sweet. They are yummy without it, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I agree with others in that this recipe didn't turn out for me. They were really greasy and flat and never quite cooked. I kept them in longer than it called for, but they were just flat and gooey. Very disappointed. However, I used the glaze on a different recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
These were pretty darn tasty. I don't really think the topping really helped all that much. I agree with other reviewers that the batter should be super lumpy when baked. it should look like you have marbles in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love_everyday264

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I was looking for a simple recipie for lemon poppy seed muffins when I campe across this. I switched out the almond extract for lemon extract and the orange juice for lemon juice and kept the rest as is. They were amazing. I'm sure the original recipie will be just as good so I'll have to try it as well. I've made these with and without the topping and they're great either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Edem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
So tasty and moist! I love poppy seed flavor, and thiey're good with either almond, as written, or with lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Excellent muffins, with or without the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
These muffins are awesome. I've made them several times and everyone always loves them! They go great with coffee for breakfast. :) Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States