Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are wonderful muffins. I cooked the glaze first and got it cooling before I prepared and baked the muffins. The glaze thickens up as it cools, which helps it adhere to the muffins better. I didn't make any changes and I was very pleased with the results. Sure, they are a bit greasy right after taking them out of the oven, but after they have cooled, they aren't too oily at all. The only thing I would recommend is not using paper muffin liners. They tend to stick to the glaze. Just grease the muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
very good! I used 1/8 cup lemon juice and 1/8 cup orange juice for glaze to give it more of a tart taste, I also put lemon and organge zest in both batter and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious! Very moist and a nice flavor. It made lots of muffins. I added some lemon extract and that added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette Cutler Burbank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wonderful! I added the whole can of poppyseeds, decreased sugar by 1/2 cup and used lime juice instead of orange juice. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Not sure what I really think of theses.... Part of the problem is that I over mixed (not sure HOW since I didn't mix very much what whatever) The other problem is that they just don't look done. Oh sure they have the right texture but the tops are SO not brown. If I let them stay in for longer they would have been dry. Did the toothpick test. OTHER problem is that they were greasy. Never had a problem with that before. I think it was probably the HUGE amount of oil in the recipe. Not trying this one again. Will try to make the glaze (hoping to give them color) but not using this again. UPDATE: Against MY judgement I'm giving it an extra star. I liked the recipes from my three books but my boyfriend really prefers this one. He liked them BECAUSE they weren't brown. I still hate the greasiness so I'm going to try making him poppyseed cupcakes because they don't have a crust and are moist without being greasy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is the best! I made this recipe just as written and used loaf pans instead of muffins. Also, did not make the glaze. The kids loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These are delicious! love the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigander033

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
It was my first time making & trying poppy seed muffins, found they were just ok..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Higgins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I haven't tried this with the glaze yet because I didn't have orange juice. The muffins alone are delicious. I can't wait to try with the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Huang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
these turned out great....yumm....cut back the oil just to a cup.....i mixed all yet ingredients and surgar together with mixer than i hand mixed in all the dry ingredients...left super lumpy....made glaze with lemon juice instead of orange....turned out fantastic...also i made 1 dozen big muffins and 3 dozen mini muffins so def makes more than recipe says.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States