Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
The muffin itself was greasy even with half applesauce and half oil. I tried to be gentle with the batter and leave some lumps but the bottoms of these muffins were still tough. I put the glaze on right out of the oven and the sugar was still gritty. I'll keep looking for my poppy seed muffin recipe this is not it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jóna Dögg Sveinbjörnsdóttir
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I love, love, love this recipe! These are one of the most delicious muffins I've ever tasted. I've never made the glazing though, I think they are too good to add something more to them. And I recommend to use larger muffin forms instead of small ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jóna Dögg Sveinbjörnsdóttir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These muffins are very sweet! I find them to be more like a cupcake than a muffin. I followed the recipe (without the glaze) exactly and they turned out fine. They do not rise very much and they do not brown. Like other reviewer, I used the toothpick test to tell when they were done. Next time I make them I will cut back on sugar and oil and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
glaze is the best part. Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Thank you for this recipe. I baked them for morning coffee time and ate two while they were still warm from the oven. I didn't change a single thing and I feel as though I have raised the bar for indulgence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duchess, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These are amazing!!! If you're thinking about skipping the sauce, don't--it totally completes the muffins. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These were very tasty, I agree that the glaze is what "makes" them. On the down side - they are far too dense to be considered muffins and there is WAY too much sugar in them. I'll keep looking for a muffin recipe, but these were by no means a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
amazing and super moist! increased poppy seeds to 1/4 cup (4 TBSP), and decreased the butter in the glaze to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are very sweet and I didnt even make the icing for them and they were still very sweet. They are really a more like a cupcake not a muffin. I wont make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States