Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe after reading the reviews. I loved the dense texture. I increased the poppyseeds to 2 tbsp., lowered the sugar to 1 3/4 C., added zest of a lemon and it's juice. Left out the Almond extract to achieve a lemon poppyseed muffin. Mixed the wet ingred. with the dry, stirring just until mixed. Recipe yielded 20 muffins, and baked for prescribed time of 20 min. I will bake these again but I will use canola vegetable oil in place of the olive oil, and I will spray my paper muffin cups with Pam, as they stuck to the paper. They still needed a stronger lemon flavor for me, as I do not wish the topping, so I will add lemon extract as well. A nice recipe all in all. Thank you Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious, this is definitely a keeper. I make a lot of muffins and these did not disappoint. I used butter instead of oil which might have made a difference, but I think they are probably just as good with oil. If they don't turn out perfectly delicious for you, you are doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
The most delicious muffins I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Here are the things you must know to make these very good muffins: 1. Do not underbake! I used a convection oven, didn't reduce the temperature, and baked these for 25 minutes. Baking for 20 minutes as specified resulted in half-baked muffins. 2. Wait for the muffins to be just slightly warm before dipping in the room temperature glaze. I found dipping to be superior to drizzling the glaze over the tops - the latter resulted in saturated, overly sweet muffins. 3. Remember to take a picture of the four (I mean three) surviving muffins before snarfing them down! 4. I think when making a new muffin recipe I will try making 5 (four at each corner and one in a middle-ish cup) rather than all twelve on the first run so if I need to adjust oven temperature or baking time I can figure that out before using the majority of the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
They were great, even without the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe has great ingredients but ignores muffin mixing technique: mix the dry, mix the wet, stir the wet (and the poppyseeds) into the dry with as few strokes as possible, getting all the flour up from the bottom but ignring small lumps. Mixed this way, it's perfect. I used mini-muffun pans (2/3 recipe makes 48 mini-muffins) and baked 14-15 minutes, untl they started to brown around the edges bot the tops were NOT brown. If you make mini-muffins, fix the glaze first, so it's usably cool by the time you're ready for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
love love loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingLove

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Very good recipe! I made mini muffins and didn't use the glaze and thought they were delicious. I don't like poppy seed muffins with lemon and these are a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I did what some of the reviews suggested. I mixed the dry ingredients separate and folded them into the wet ingredients. The batter was very very lumpy but it worked. I doubled the recipe and got 48 regular muffins and 24 mini muffins out of the double batch. (It was for a school project) I baked them for 18 minutes and it turned out wonderful. The glaze made the difference between a good muffin and an excellent muffin. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulofgrace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I love this recipe! I added more poppy seeds- 3Tbsp. in all, and I subbed honey for the sugar which I always do. I only used 1 3/4 Cups of honey per some reviewers suggestions. This is a great recipe and my 12 year old son said they were better than the Beans and Brews poppy seed muffins we get down the street.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States