Poppy Seed Mini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These are cute lil' nuggets! Two things I'll note right away: they are muffins--not cupcakes--so they are NOT very sweet. They are poppy seed muffins that happen to have lemon extract; do not expect a zippy lemon flavor unless you decide to add zest...which I did because I wanted to use some lemons before they get tossed. I didn't have sour cream so I used plain yogurt...it worked fine but I think sour cream would've made them more moist. Also..."mini" is relative. I have smaller pans than my mom's mini muffin pans, so keep this in mind when you're baking yours! Mine were done in 8 minutes exactly and made 48. I wanted a little sweet and more lemon pucker so I made a quick glaze with the lemon juice, zest, and powdered sugar. Can't wait to share with my coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Taking other reviewers' suggestion, I reduced bake time to 8 minutes for the muffins and 15 minutes for my mini loaves. Brushed on a lemon glaze made from 1/2 C powdered sugar and 4 tsp lemon juice while they were cooling. The recipe is not for Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins but I do love lemon so I doubled the lemon and added 2 Tbs lemon juice plus 2 Tbs lemon zest. I would add AT LEAST double of that next time for more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
5 Stars !!!I loved making these with my mom. My favorite part is using almond extract instead of vanilla. That is her favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
The texture of these muffins was good - fluffy and pretty moist. However, even after doubling the lemon extract, the end result didn't have that fresh, tart lemon flavor I was hoping for. The lemon was really just an undertone. Maybe I'll look for a recipe that calls for fresh lemon juice/zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Maybe my oven runs hot or something, but I baked these for 10 minutes and they were already overdone. I should have known better, since normal muffin recipes are usually baked lower than 400 degrees, and these were mini muffins too. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Wonderful little muffins. I didnt have lemon extract but I zested and juiced one lemon instead. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Very good. I followed one suggestion and used half wheat flour, and I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. With the wheat flour you probably need to double the lemon extract, as the flavor was a little more subtle than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
absolutely wonderful! i was looking for a quick recipe to use up some sour cream and was surprised how awesome these came out. it was the perfect amount for 12 regular sized muffins. the only thing i substituted was lemon zest and juice of one lemon for the lemon extract and natural vanilla bean paste for the vanilla extract. YUM! will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I doubled this recipe because I needed about 40 mini muffins... I got 84! The original recipes makes more like 42. I do like them, just warning that the yield is way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
these were really excellent. i did a half recipe and got almost 2 dozen mini muffins. i also only baked them for about 8 minutes. they were light and fluffy and of course, delicious. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States