Poppy Seed Lemon Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very good; I took other people's recommendation, doubling the lemon zest and adding juice of 1/2 - 1 lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is at least 4 of 5 stars. Not sure why I didn't give it 5 stars, but it has been a while since I made it. I just remember loving it and so did my husband who doesn't particularly like lemon in his food. We loved this Poppy Seed Lemon Loaf and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laur
Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Perfect as written - thank you for a great addition to my files which are bulging!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Great recipe! The yogurt really makes for a good, moist cake and I make this recipe at least a couple times a month - my husband and his buddys all really love it. I alter it slightly, though - i actually add the grated zest of an entire lemon or two if they are small, plus i add about half a teaspoon of lemon extract. this really kicks up the lemon flavor. I then use the juice of the lemon(s), add confectioners sugar until it is nice and soupy, and pour it over the top of the loaf within 5 min or so of coming out of the oven for a really quick and easy glaze that soaks in and makes it even more flavorful. Also, I don't have the small loaf pans, so this recipe makes one good sized 5x9 in. loaf and I leave it in for 40 min instead of 35.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was average. As others pointed out, a 1/2t lemon "peel" isn't going to do much. I used 1t lemon extract, and there still wasn't a noticable lemon flavor. Perhaps the vanilla and almond extracts are cancelling it out? Not sure. In any case, the end product was a too dense for me. I'll find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I swap out the vanilla extract for lemon extract. Even fresh lemons don't give enough zing. Extract is more intense. For this recipe, replace both extracts for the lemon one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
i added the juice of half a large lemon which may have brightened the flavor a bit, but the recipe didnt provide the lemon flavor i had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I added the zest and juice from a whole lemon and I could still barely taste the lemon flavor. The wet batter was super lemony, but it definitely baked off. Next time, I'll add more zest and juice to up the lemon flavor. A great base recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Made these into muffins, but made no other changes. They were terrific, tender, and delicious. Enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joiselene
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I also went for the healthy options. I substituted the egg with 1 banana, 2/3 cup milk instead of yogurt, same amount of canola oil for butter and I didn't have almond extract. I used the zest and juice of 1 whole lemon. I baked them as muffins at 350 degrees for 18-20 mins. Turned out GREAT! I will be keeping this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States