Poppy Seed French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Too bitter/strong poppy for me. I even decreased to 2TBS. My husband liked it. If he wants this again I will only use 1TBS. The poppys didn't have a problem falling to the bottom, I just whisked in between dips. To enjoy this I just had to use a little more syrup to tone down the poppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was really good with the crunch from the little poppy seeds and the flavor overall. I used regular sandwich bread. I might try swapping vanilla for lemon or almond extract the next time and play around with this great little recipe. My only problem was that the seeds tended to settle on the bottom of the dish so when dipping the bread it was mostly seedless. It would work out better to sprinkle them on after dipping I would think or else stir them up every dip. Thanks Jessica, I love poppy seed muffins and this gave me the flavor without the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I used whole wheat Bread instead my family isn't big on white bread, were kinda health nuts, well me and my mother but it tasted good! i doubled the vanilla cause it adds more flavour i think :) but a good recipe i think i'll defiantly use this one again the next time i cook ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve'sBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Fairly bland. The vanilla did not help. Did smell good while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very tasty French Toast! You don't need to use so many poppy seeds, though, to get their flavor. I used light brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This was really good. I had a real problem with the poppy seeds sinking to the bottom,so I just sprinkled the seeds over the toast as it cooked. I topped it with lemon curd instead of syrup and I think next time I'll use orange marmalade.Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Worked well for breakfast. I used a little more vanilla and not quite 3 TBLS of poppy seeds. Also, I used up some sliced french bread first before switching to regular bread. I didn't think it tasted incrediably different from regular french toast but it was tasty and kind of pretty. Toothpicks may be needed for this one folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was good. I added some lemon zest to the batter and made a little lemon butter sauce and raspberry jam. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2000
Quick, easy and very tasty. Fantastic for brekky or an inbetween snack...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States