Poppy Seed Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I loved this recipe. But I found it when I was on the All Recipes app. And when I went on the computer to find it again. It did not list the calories, so for the record they have 143 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Cut the butter in half, added 1 whole egg and 1 egg yolk, and 1 Tbs. poppy seeds. Came out very yummy! Made 2 dozen total rather than the 4 listed. Recommend this cookie if you want a not so sweet tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caracalx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
It would be a good cookie I think with Tea. But I don't like tea...was trying to use up some Poppy seeds and this sounded interesting. They were OK, nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Tasted great! I didn't put any frosting/icing on them, and they were totally yummy! I agree they were crumbly, but I don't mind my cookies light, fluffy, and falling apart in your mouth... I do wonder though, if you used the entire egg (instead of just the yolks), would that make them more firm? I'll have to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
rEALLY GOOD TASTE. BUT i FOUND THEM PRETTY CRUMBLY TO WORK WITH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Tastes great, but the texture is too crumbly for me. I bit into a cookie and it shattered in my mouth! Nevertheless, tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are now my all-time favorite Christmas cookie! They are tender and light and hold their shape perfectly. They are also very versatile. I used this same batter for thumbprints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I just made these cookies and they were fine but a little plain - a basic sugar cookie with some poppy seeds for added texture. They did come out nice and crisp. I probably won't make them again - they were not bad in any way but somehow not quite flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I liked these a lot. The poppyseed taste is subtle yet makes them a little different and more "elegant" than ordinary butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I was looking for a cookie recipe to use up some extra egg yolks I had in the refrigerator. I doubled the recipe and used half butter/half margarine. Also, I only used half the amount of poppy seeds, and that seemed to be plenty. This was a light, delicious little cookie. However, I did find it to be a bit too crumbly. Upon my first bite, the whole thing practically shattered! Did I flatten it too thinly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States