Poppy Seed Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I loved this recipe. But I found it when I was on the All Recipes app. And when I went on the computer to find it again. It did not list the calories, so for the record they have 143 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Cut the butter in half, added 1 whole egg and 1 egg yolk, and 1 Tbs. poppy seeds. Came out very yummy! Made 2 dozen total rather than the 4 listed. Recommend this cookie if you want a not so sweet tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caracalx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
It would be a good cookie I think with Tea. But I don't like tea...was trying to use up some Poppy seeds and this sounded interesting. They were OK, nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Tasted great! I didn't put any frosting/icing on them, and they were totally yummy! I agree they were crumbly, but I don't mind my cookies light, fluffy, and falling apart in your mouth... I do wonder though, if you used the entire egg (instead of just the yolks), would that make them more firm? I'll have to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
rEALLY GOOD TASTE. BUT i FOUND THEM PRETTY CRUMBLY TO WORK WITH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Tastes great, but the texture is too crumbly for me. I bit into a cookie and it shattered in my mouth! Nevertheless, tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are now my all-time favorite Christmas cookie! They are tender and light and hold their shape perfectly. They are also very versatile. I used this same batter for thumbprints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I just made these cookies and they were fine but a little plain - a basic sugar cookie with some poppy seeds for added texture. They did come out nice and crisp. I probably won't make them again - they were not bad in any way but somehow not quite flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I liked these a lot. The poppyseed taste is subtle yet makes them a little different and more "elegant" than ordinary butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I was looking for a cookie recipe to use up some extra egg yolks I had in the refrigerator. I doubled the recipe and used half butter/half margarine. Also, I only used half the amount of poppy seeds, and that seemed to be plenty. This was a light, delicious little cookie. However, I did find it to be a bit too crumbly. Upon my first bite, the whole thing practically shattered! Did I flatten it too thinly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States