Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is an old family favorite in my house. It was my favorite when I was little - and that says a lot because I was very picky. I add the butter (I use low-fat and a little less) to the cracker mixture. It's not so messy. Also, I shred the chicken breasts after poaching. Use judgement when spreading on the soup/sour cream mixture over the chicken-only use enough to cover the chicken. Can use low-fat soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe is quick and easy. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe has great potential. A local caterer sells a poppyseed chicken dish from their take out case that I love. This one is similar. I used the diced chicken instead of whole breasts. I know the one I'm trying to copy has monterrey jack cheese in it so I added about two cups of shredded cheese when I made this recipe. Next time I try it, I will cut back on the poppy seeds and try to make the consistency a little more "soupy" so it spoons over the rice better. These are definitely the same ingredients so I will be experimenting to find the right combination to make it as good as the version I've bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Very easy and tasty recipe--the kids ate it--what more do you want
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYABD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This wasn't very good at all. Neither my husband or I liked it, and we're pretty easy. My 1-year-old picked at it, and my 3-year-old ate one bite and wouldn't touch any other food that came in contact with it. It was a lot of work for the end result, and we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
My family now requests this for every gathering. It always turns out perfect, and is easily complimented by a variety of sidedishes. I've used white wine with success when sherry wasn't handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My husband LOVED this chicken. Both my 2 and 4 year old kids also ate it very well. It was easy. The only thing I did different, was omit the sherry because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I thought this recipe was a great deal of work. My kids would not eat it and my husband and I thought the sauce was a little too rich. It was fun to try, but I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
this was really fantastic served over white rice. i added a little garlic and chilie powder when i cooked the chicken to spice it up a bit. then used half the sour cream and butter called for to reduce fat. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
We LOVE this recipe! I use whole, boneless chicken breasts because it is faster and easier and I'm lazy. I have made this recipe several times and it is fabulous! My 16 year old daughter's best friend requests it every time she comes. A really family favorite. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States