Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
My whole family enjoyed this, even my 2 and 3 year old boys. I omitted the sherry, but made no other alterations. We will be making this again and again. It yielded a bit too much for us, so I think I will try dividing between 2 8x8 casseroles and freeze one prior to topping and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I have made and shared this recipe for more than 21 years (minus the sherry). It is a delicious and rich dish . It is a favorite for parties with buffet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Easy & tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is such an easy dish to prepare and tastes great even without the sherry. I gave it 4 stars but my husband thought it was 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Changed this way: 2 chicken breasts, 1 1/2 C sliced baby p'bella mushrooms. Used 1 can crm of chicken and mushroom mixture. White cooking wine. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is comfort food at its best. I like to season my chicken with salt & pepper and a sprinkle of Lawry's Seasoning. I also find the casserole more creamy by combining the sauce with the chicken before adding it to the dish to bake. If you have a jar of mushrooms handy, drain and add those as well. This is a favorite in our house. Casserole goes great with green beans and rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This dish was awsome.I did make a little changes.I boiled a whole chicken for an hour with a chicken cube,onions,garlic pepper and salt for taste.I then peeled it off the bone and put in the bottom of the dish. I also put 4oz. of french onion dip and 4oz. of sour cream instead of all 8oz. just sour cream.I also put about a tsp. of garlic pepper in the soup mixture, thanks for the idea it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This recipe was awesome! Even my children enjoyed the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This is a fabulous dish. I have cooked it with whole chicken breasts (as opposed to diced)and then served atop rice. I have also used it as a casserole by cooking the diced chicken, adding some of the sauce to the chicken, then cooking egg noodles and adding the rest of sauce to that. put egg noodles on bottom of pan, then adding the chicken , and top with the cracker mix and back. Both ways are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is my husbands FAVORITE dish, although I make a few changes to it. I like it because it is so versitile and goof-proof! I usually poach the chicken with some onion, celery and carrots for flavor, and use Wheatsworth crackers in the topping, processing them in a food processor with the butter and poppyseeds to make a sand-like topping that bakes together nicely. I also mix the sauce with the chicken rather than spreading it on top of the chicken to keep the chicken nice and moist. I also add leftover veggies (ie: peas, broccoli, carrots, etc) to the chicken mixture more often than not. Its a good way to sneak in veggies since my hubby doesn't like to eat them plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States