Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
After raving to my mother for a whole year about a poppy seed chicken casserole I had at a party last spring, I found this recipe and insisted we try it. We were disappointed. It was bland and salty--tasted like your ordinary chicken-and-condensed soup casserole. I did substitute buttermilk for a bit of the sour cream b/c I only had about 6 oz--maybe that's where I messed up but somehow I don't think the taste could be affected THAT much by such a small change. A waste of rather-expensive poppy seeds. I'm still hunting for something that tastes like the poppy seed casserole I had last Spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I made this for a couple of friends and they both loved it. I did make a lot of modifications to the recipe based on others suggestions, therefore it only gets 4 stars. I used the French Onion dip instead of sour cream, used chicken breasts rather than shredding it, used cream of mushroom soup and added fresh cut mushrooms. I also used white wine instead of sherry b/c I had it on hand. Next time I would like to make up the mixture, let the chicken marinate in it over night and cook it on low heat so the chicken would be more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Wonderful! Absolutely wonderful! The best Poppy Seed Chicken recipe that I have ever made! The sherry is the winning touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This turned out to be great! My boyfriend absolutely loved it! I even made it ahead one night and it was great reheated. I omitted the sherry and I added: finely chopped celery, onion, fresh garlic, and blended it all in with sourcream/soup mix. I also added softened cream cheese and cooked egg noodles! All of the additions made this simple recipe 'gourmet'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This is wonderful. I was loving every bite. The sherry gave it excellent flavor, it made the dish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
A friend of mine gave me almost the exact recipe and my whole family loves it. I am not a very good cook but this is easy. And best of all I made it for my mother and she asked me for the recipe, something that she has never done before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I followed the suggestion to use onion dip instead of plain sour cream to add more flavor. I also added a little shredded cheese for flavor. While this was good, and my family ate it, I didn't get the rave reviews I expected based on some of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I was a bit disappointed by this recipe. I thought it was really lacking in flavor, and I even added some dried onion to the mix. I added fresh broccoli as well, and don't think that was the best idea, it seemed to give it a weird aftertaste. I thought it had too much of a sour cream taste, maybe cutting back on that would help. Not sure, with some doctoring it could be better but I think I'll stick with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Ver easy and delicious. You can use french onion dip in place of the sour cream- it adds more flavor. Also, you can use different soups. Cream of mushroom or celery work well. This is one of my favorites. I told people from work about it and they tried it and all love it too. Also a bit hit with children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States