Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This concoction was terribly bland tasting. Will not make again. It definitely did not live up to the high praises of the other reviewers, nor was it what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
We loved it. My 4yr. old said double thumbs up. I deleted the sherry, added some cheese and used half Ritz and half club crackers. It was great. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This recipe is great! It preps in no time. I didn't add the sherry - but I might try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
We eat this recipe often and love it. I just cut up raw chicken instead of cooking first. Both my boys and husband eat it with no compliants. I serve it with rice pilaf from a box. Easy and good flavor each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I thought I remembered having this dish at my best-friend's house when I was young and just loving it, so I made it for my husband the other night exactly according to recipe (minus the sherry as we don't use alcohol) and it left a lot to be desired. The poppy seed taste was just overwhelming. I am not picky about food by ANY means, but I could barely eat this. You have to really like poppy seeds in order to like this casserole, as it is the only distinguishing taste in the dish besides the butter and cracker (I used Ritz) topping. Ech.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I shred the chicken or use the canned chunks if i'm in a hurry and put that on the bottom of the dish. I mix the soup, low-far sour cream (reg sour cream makes it too rich for me) , and a can of mushrooms (no sherry) and put that on top. Then i mix the melted butter, cracker crumbs, and poppy seeds and sprinkle them over the whole thing. This is one of the BEST recipes and i make it often! My husband and 2 year old LOVE it and i usually have to make two batches so we have leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
One of our favorite dishes of all time. I make it with both chicken tenderloins and chicken breasts. I substitute low fat ingredients and you would never know. I serve this dish over egg noodles and there are hardly ever a leftover! My 2 year old just loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarsonMaciMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This dish was good, nothing special -- but E-Z! The bigger breasts were not cooked through after 45 mins so I would say just bake for a full hour. 8 oz. of Ritz crackers? According to a 14.5 oz. box, that's over half a box of crackers! I think you can get away with much less than that. The crackers absorbed most of the sauce so it was a bit dry, no sauce for the rice. That may have interferred with the cooking of the chicken. I left the breasts whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Great and feeds many
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I noticed that some people said this recipe was bland. Ritz crackers are the answer!! Try that and see the difference! Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States