Poppy Seed Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Good comfort food. I sauteed onions & garlic and used cream of mushroom soup along with a TBS of poppy seeds. Served it with mashed potatoes and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A keeper. I read the reviews and incorporated them. Thank you all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
A great way to use up leftover cooked chicken or Thanksgiving turkey! I don't layer...I just mix the chicken with the soup and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
very good and couldn't be easier to make! We served it with rice cooked in chicken broth. I will make it again! Maybe for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGWISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This made the best chicken sandwich ever. I shredded the chicken and mixed everything together, put crackers, poppy seeds, and butter mix on top. Then we ended up mixing it all up and putting it o buns. So good! I think I will add broccoli next time if I want to keep it in casserole form. But hubby loved it as shredded chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious! I did think it tasted a little too much like sour cream until I mixed the buttery crackers in (I had no poppy seeds on hand, unfortunately). Perhaps I will add a little bit of butter to the sour cream/soup mix or just use a little less sour cream next time. There will definitely be a next time! It was so rich I couldn't even finish one serving. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I remember my mom making this for me 30 years ago.... And this tastes just the same! Very nice! As always, though of you who know me.... I like to add some heat. So... I put about a teaspoon of Spanish paprika, about 10 clicks of fresh ground black pepper and garlic powder. In addition - 2 dashes of oregano and 2 dashes of basil. I used 2 large chicken breasts, cut them into uncooked chunks and mixed them with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Of course at least 1 cup of sour cream... Finally, instead of regular saltines, try Keebler Club Crackers!!!!!!!! Then, the 1/2 cup butter works just fine. I cook for 30 minutes, check it and usually let it ride another 10 to 15 minutes. DO NOT OVERCOOK or the crackers taste terrible.... All-in-all, this goes great with garlic mashed potatoes, rice (white or otherwise) or pasta. A truly versatile dish! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this as written the first time and loved it but I actually have been making this in my slow cooker ever since. I put all of the wet ingredients, and some poppy seeds over raw chicken, and cook while I'm at work all day. Then when I get home I put the cracker crumbs and more poppy seeds on top with a little bit of mozzarella cheese. Move the crock pot to the oven and bake until the top is bubbly. Yummy with pasta. We've made it apart of the rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I liked it! It's something that I would take to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Way too much sour cream. . I served with rice and that helped but this is definitely not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYHOLLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States