Poppy Seed Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I remember my mom making this for me 30 years ago.... And this tastes just the same! Very nice! As always, though of you who know me.... I like to add some heat. So... I put about a teaspoon of Spanish paprika, about 10 clicks of fresh ground black pepper and garlic powder. In addition - 2 dashes of oregano and 2 dashes of basil. I used 2 large chicken breasts, cut them into uncooked chunks and mixed them with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Of course at least 1 cup of sour cream... Finally, instead of regular saltines, try Keebler Club Crackers!!!!!!!! Then, the 1/2 cup butter works just fine. I cook for 30 minutes, check it and usually let it ride another 10 to 15 minutes. DO NOT OVERCOOK or the crackers taste terrible.... All-in-all, this goes great with garlic mashed potatoes, rice (white or otherwise) or pasta. A truly versatile dish! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this as written the first time and loved it but I actually have been making this in my slow cooker ever since. I put all of the wet ingredients, and some poppy seeds over raw chicken, and cook while I'm at work all day. Then when I get home I put the cracker crumbs and more poppy seeds on top with a little bit of mozzarella cheese. Move the crock pot to the oven and bake until the top is bubbly. Yummy with pasta. We've made it apart of the rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I liked it! It's something that I would take to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Way too much sour cream. . I served with rice and that helped but this is definitely not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Super easy, super good comfort food. Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
My family loved it! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
quick easy meal that we make quite often around here...something everyone will eat in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very good comfort food and easy to make. I stirred in 1 Tablespoon fresh lemon juice to the soup & sour cream mixture and I added a good tablespoon of poppy seeds in with it. Used one sleeve of whole wheat ritz crackers...just crushed in the sleeve like another reviewer suggested. I put 1 tsp of poppy seeds in cracker mixture. Bake uncovered and you will have a delicious crunchy toppiing. I had some leftover cooked baby pasta shells in the fridge so I put about 2 cups on the bottom of pan. The next time I will try over boiled potatoes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I gave this recipe 5 stars because it is delicious, AND my family likes it as well, so that is always a plus when trying to find new ideas for dinner. I also gave it 5 stars for its simplicity. I purchased a rotisserie chicken which already has a lot of flavor built in. I also mixed the chicken and sauce ingredients, including the poppy seeds, in one bowl (there's really no need to layer the sauce on top of the chicken). I did increase the quantity of poppy seeds to 2 tablespoons. For measuring purposes, one sleeve of crackers (ritz or townhouse) equals a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was a hit with my partner and me. After reading other reviews I decided to add 1/2 cup of milk, a whole 8oz container of sour cream, and 2 tbls of poppy seeds into the soup mixture. The whole dish turned out very moist and creamy, and the extra poppy seeds really made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States