Poppy Seed Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I add a can of cream of celery. Very good addition. We leave the poppy seeds out, yet still call it poppy seed chicken :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Super good! Basic for one of our favorite recipes. I always add some spices (garlic salt, fresh ground pepper, paprika, and onion powder) to taste to our liking. We also stir in a bit of milk or cream. Poppy seeds weren't usually a staple in this house, until we made this dish. Now, they're always in the spice cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UtahMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Good comfort food. I sauteed onions & garlic and used cream of mushroom soup along with a TBS of poppy seeds. Served it with mashed potatoes and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A keeper. I read the reviews and incorporated them. Thank you all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
A great way to use up leftover cooked chicken or Thanksgiving turkey! I don't layer...I just mix the chicken with the soup and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
very good and couldn't be easier to make! We served it with rice cooked in chicken broth. I will make it again! Maybe for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGWISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This made the best chicken sandwich ever. I shredded the chicken and mixed everything together, put crackers, poppy seeds, and butter mix on top. Then we ended up mixing it all up and putting it o buns. So good! I think I will add broccoli next time if I want to keep it in casserole form. But hubby loved it as shredded chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious! I did think it tasted a little too much like sour cream until I mixed the buttery crackers in (I had no poppy seeds on hand, unfortunately). Perhaps I will add a little bit of butter to the sour cream/soup mix or just use a little less sour cream next time. There will definitely be a next time! It was so rich I couldn't even finish one serving. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I remember my mom making this for me 30 years ago.... And this tastes just the same! Very nice! As always, though of you who know me.... I like to add some heat. So... I put about a teaspoon of Spanish paprika, about 10 clicks of fresh ground black pepper and garlic powder. In addition - 2 dashes of oregano and 2 dashes of basil. I used 2 large chicken breasts, cut them into uncooked chunks and mixed them with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Of course at least 1 cup of sour cream... Finally, instead of regular saltines, try Keebler Club Crackers!!!!!!!! Then, the 1/2 cup butter works just fine. I cook for 30 minutes, check it and usually let it ride another 10 to 15 minutes. DO NOT OVERCOOK or the crackers taste terrible.... All-in-all, this goes great with garlic mashed potatoes, rice (white or otherwise) or pasta. A truly versatile dish! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this as written the first time and loved it but I actually have been making this in my slow cooker ever since. I put all of the wet ingredients, and some poppy seeds over raw chicken, and cook while I'm at work all day. Then when I get home I put the cracker crumbs and more poppy seeds on top with a little bit of mozzarella cheese. Move the crock pot to the oven and bake until the top is bubbly. Yummy with pasta. We've made it apart of the rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States