Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My family loves this dish. The only change is I don't add the cheese and I add 1 can of peas and carrots to the sour cream and soup mixture (so my kids get a little veg!) and they devour it. Almost no left overs! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
It was very easy and was good, just not excellent. There just wasn't alot of flavor to the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Our annual family reunion favorite (sans cheese)! This is one of those recipes where substitution usually equals success. I've used leftover turkey mixed with chicken (even canned, when necessary). I've sautéed the cut-up chicken in O.oil, which added a different, deeper flavor. We've used cream of mushroom, celery and I'd like to try c.o. Asparagus too, mixed with at least one can of c.o. Chicken. For us, the more crackers, the better! I always mix the crackers/poppy seeds with softened butter rather than melted butter. My cousin, who started the "poppy seed chicken" tradition said it seemed less "greasy" this way. I've never had mine come out oily or greasy, so I have to assume she's correct. This is a good potluck and works well for large families like ours. We make this for 30+ and there are rarely left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Very easy and good. I made it using half boneless chicken breast and half boneless thighs to keep the cost down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My 3 children love this, especially my picky eater. She wants her food to have a lot of flavor. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I made this recipe for my husband but changed it up a bit and he LOVED it! .. and kept telling me lol. okay, so i didn't use any poppy seeds because i didn't have any, and I did add spinach. I did everything as listed, but I defrosted some frozen spinach, and added a layer of that on top of the layer of chicken. To the spinach, i sprinkled a bit of chicken bouillon (but just a tiny b it!) I also didn't add any cheese.. i forgot if it asked for some lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
A bit too creamy.....but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlingeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I didn't have any sour cream on hand but had plain yogurt, less fat, and it tasted great! Even my picky 2 year old said it was yummy! Definitely will make it again. I also didn't use the 2 c of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I have been making this for a while and anyone who tastes it LOVES it! I double the recipe with 2 cans of Cream of chicken, 2 sticks of butter, 2 packages(or sleeves) of Ritz crackers, 16oz of sour cream, same amount of chicken. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nichols Gilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Wow! Delicious. I added 6 chicken breasts instead of 4. Serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States