Poppy Seed Bundt Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This cake was a HUGE hit! I made a yummy glaze for the cake by combining 2 tsp butter, ½ cup 10X sugar, and 1 Tbsp milk. Stir until smooth and drizzle over cooled cake. Moist and delish! Also, I didn't have a 10" pan, so I used an 8” Bundt pan plus a 6-muffin pan. This worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I have used this recipe for years...the only difference is : I add either 1 cup of orange juice or 2 T lemon Juice filled to on cup, instead the 1 C water. Great glazed with on orange or lemon Glaze made of juice, powdered sugar and a little zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
If you're tired of lemon poppy seed cake, you'll love this variation! The almond flavoring really complements the poppy seeds. I prefer to use 3 tablespoons of poppy seeds in the cake. This recipe makes a pretty Bundt cake, but cupcakes are also delicious, with cream cheese frosting. This cake takes exactly 50 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
This recipe turned out wonderfully. Everyone thought the cake was very light and fluffy, the secret is to let your mixer beat the batter for at least 4 minutes, if not one more. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was good. I would have liked a little stronger almond and poppyseed flavor. I will definately make again and increse the almond extract and poppyseeds. The cake was really moist and had a great texture. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This cake was wonderful. Very moist and easy to make. I made a glaze for it with 10x sugar and almond extract, then sprinkles sliced almonds over the top. Will make this often for almost any function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Fantabulous! Incredibly easy, throw together recipe. The results are a really light, moist, fluffy cake. Not too sweet. Didn't need icing of any kind IMO. Could definitely see these in muffin or cupcake type forms. I followed others' advice and double the almond extract. Really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I wanted to make a Pistachio / Poppyseed Cake like my grandma used to make. I used this recipe as a base and only changed the pudding (to Pistachio) and extract (2 tsp vanilla). Followed everything else and it was very moist and delicious. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I used 'cake mixes from scratch and variations' from this web site. I just used the dry ingredients and then followed this recipe. Have not tasted yet but will update...I also used an almond/butter/milk/confectioner sugar glaze. Update-was terrific! Raves from company. Moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Yummo! I made this for my mother's birthday and received compliments. According to the introduction, any flavor of cake mix or pudding could be used. I used white cake mix and butterscotch pudding. I also used a little more almond extract in the cake and also added it to the frosting drizzle. It was moist and had a good flavor. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States