Poppy Seed Bundt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
The perfect cake! It is scrumptious, moist, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
This was easy to make and tasted great! I added some lemon flavoring to perk it up a bit. I put this cake in a bake sale and every slice was sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I can't say enough about this cake. It was easy, delicious and a crowd pleaser. My parents happened to drop in after I made this and they took half of it home with them. I used fat free sour cream and might try substituting some applesauce for some oil the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Excellent! Moist and scrumptious. I added about 1 tsp. of sugar at the bottom of my bundt pan before added the mixture. When the cake was done, poked holes through it and drizzled it with juice of one lemon and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. Topped with zest of 1 lemon. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was one of the best cakes that I ever tasted. I followed the directions but used splenda instead of sugar and egg beaters instead of eggs. I also added 1 tsp of pure lemon extract and got rave reviews. Thanks Darlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
DE-LISH!! My mom and I couldnt stop eatin this, it is soooo good. I have made it for many occasions and it is always a favorite. A definite keeper!! Rich, buttery, mmmmmmm..... PS I wouldn't put sugar in the bundt pan first as it caused our cake to stick, i recommend spray oil and lots of flour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
YUM!!! I made this recipe at a family gathering and everyone devoured it. It is moist and delicious. I only altered it by adding 2t of almod extract, and next time I will increase that to 3t. I served it in a pool of the microwaveable lemon curd also on this webiste, with some fresh, sliced strawberries on the side. An impressive-looking and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This cake is absolutely wonderful. I added 1 tsp. of lemon extract and instead of 1 cup oil, I used half cup applesause and half cup oil. When cake was finished cooking, I dusted the top with icing sugar I make this quite regularly now and always get asked for the recipe. Thankyou Darlene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
If you are looking for an extremely moist, dense too die for cake, this is it. I make mine with a lemon Duncan Hines cake mix (I tried Betty Crocker, but the end result seems a tad drier)and add one teaspoon of lemon extract. Very flavourful! Another variation is to use a Duncan Hines chocolate cake mix. When I do the chocolate version, I crush up SKOR bits into a sugary powder and use this instead of the sugar on the inside of the pan. Very good :-) Next time I make it with the skor bits though, I will combine the crushed skor with some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe is really, really good! I made this particular recipe because I already had the ingredients. I made it with 3 eggs since that's all I had and beat it longer in the stand mixer. It came out light and moist. It did fall a little in the middle, but that really didn't matter since it rose to the top of pan. I did sprinkle the pan with a tablespoon of sugar (after spraying with Pam for baking) and it didn't burn. Thanks for the recipe! I'll make this again and maybe try it with half applesauce since it's pretty heavy on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States