Poppy Seed Bundt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I just adore this cake and it has to be among my favorite lemon cakes I have ever baked. The perfect light and moist taste is just ideal to serve at the end of a summer meal and I love the contrast of the poppy seeds. I used a Pilsbury Lemon cake mix and also added 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. Followed the recipe and the rest of the ingredients exactly. Thank you for sharing, I know I will be making this cake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is my mom's "top secret" recipe and it's simply fabulous. We like it drizzled with a glaze of milk+powdered sugar and it's especially festive with colored sprinkles. I love this cake and used to hope it'd break in the bundt pan so we could have one around the house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This cake has been my family's favorite for years and is expected to appear at every family get-together. I always use only 1/2 to 3/4 cup of oil and it is delicious and moist. I never bother to glaze it. We love the bit of crispyness the sugar gives the outside of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very good, I used white cake mix, half applesauce for the oil. It turned out well and the sugar did not even carmelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHUGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Yum! Husband said it was the best bundt cake I've made. We liked it because it wasn't overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda Mersmann

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
To die for!!!! It was very easy to make tastes like it came straight from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe is really, really good! I made this particular recipe because I already had the ingredients. I made it with 3 eggs since that's all I had and beat it longer in the stand mixer. It came out light and moist. It did fall a little in the middle, but that really didn't matter since it rose to the top of pan. I did sprinkle the pan with a tablespoon of sugar (after spraying with Pam for baking) and it didn't burn. Thanks for the recipe! I'll make this again and maybe try it with half applesauce since it's pretty heavy on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
If you are looking for an extremely moist, dense too die for cake, this is it. I make mine with a lemon Duncan Hines cake mix (I tried Betty Crocker, but the end result seems a tad drier)and add one teaspoon of lemon extract. Very flavourful! Another variation is to use a Duncan Hines chocolate cake mix. When I do the chocolate version, I crush up SKOR bits into a sugary powder and use this instead of the sugar on the inside of the pan. Very good :-) Next time I make it with the skor bits though, I will combine the crushed skor with some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Yummy but RICH! I put a lemon/milk/sugar glaze on it aswell, but still very VERY rich. That might have been the cake mix I was using, but anyways, overall it was a four star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The only deviation from the recipe was that I used lemon cake instead of yellow. So moist and good, gone in one night! As we say in this house "esss tha besss, i lub et"(Nacho Libre).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States