Poppy Seed Bundt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This cake is absolutely wonderful. I added 1 tsp. of lemon extract and instead of 1 cup oil, I used half cup applesause and half cup oil. When cake was finished cooking, I dusted the top with icing sugar I make this quite regularly now and always get asked for the recipe. Thankyou Darlene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Excellent! Moist and scrumptious. I added about 1 tsp. of sugar at the bottom of my bundt pan before added the mixture. When the cake was done, poked holes through it and drizzled it with juice of one lemon and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. Topped with zest of 1 lemon. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I can't say enough about this cake. It was easy, delicious and a crowd pleaser. My parents happened to drop in after I made this and they took half of it home with them. I used fat free sour cream and might try substituting some applesauce for some oil the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
YUM!!! I made this recipe at a family gathering and everyone devoured it. It is moist and delicious. I only altered it by adding 2t of almod extract, and next time I will increase that to 3t. I served it in a pool of the microwaveable lemon curd also on this webiste, with some fresh, sliced strawberries on the side. An impressive-looking and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe - and very forgiving too. I realized after I had begun to prepare it that I only had 1/4 c. oil, so I used that, and added 2-3 T butter, melted, and 1/2 c water. I wanted to use up the sour cream I had, so it was probably between 1-1 1/4 c sour cream. I only used 2 T poppy seeds for our personal tastes, and lastly I added 1 tsp each of vanilla, almond, and lemon extracts to the batter - my favorite combination. I sprayed my bundt pan thoroughly with cooking spray and sugared it per the instructions, and the cake released from the pan beautifully. It was done for me at 50 min. I glazed it with about 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 2 T butter, melted, a tsp each of vanilla, almond, and lemon extracts (again), and a little water to get the consistency I wanted. All these little accidents added up to a fabulous cake, so I will probably do it exactly the same way again! But I do not think you could do anything to keep this cake from being scrumptious. My daughter declared it "deeeee-licious". Thanks for a great recipe. Good way to use up that cake mix I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Where are 6 stars when you need them? This cake is delicious - moist and wonderful flavor. I followed the recipe to a T and couldn't be more pleased. I did a lemon glaze and drizzled it over the warm cake. Really impressed the family - thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good & moist. I added 1 tsp. almond extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michilinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
DE-LISH!! My mom and I couldnt stop eatin this, it is soooo good. I have made it for many occasions and it is always a favorite. A definite keeper!! Rich, buttery, mmmmmmm..... PS I wouldn't put sugar in the bundt pan first as it caused our cake to stick, i recommend spray oil and lots of flour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was one of the best cakes that I ever tasted. I followed the directions but used splenda instead of sugar and egg beaters instead of eggs. I also added 1 tsp of pure lemon extract and got rave reviews. Thanks Darlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I just adore this cake and it has to be among my favorite lemon cakes I have ever baked. The perfect light and moist taste is just ideal to serve at the end of a summer meal and I love the contrast of the poppy seeds. I used a Pilsbury Lemon cake mix and also added 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. Followed the recipe and the rest of the ingredients exactly. Thank you for sharing, I know I will be making this cake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States