Poppy Seed Bundt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This poppy seed cake is beyond good !!!!!!!!!!!!! I have made this about 100 times and follow recipe exactly as written the only thing I changed was I use a lemon glaze made with the juice of 1 lemon and 1 cup of confectioners sugar (I usually use concentrated lemon 3-4 tablespoons) This cake is ALWAYS a huge hit with family and friends. Thank You for sharing !!!!!!!!! I swear you will love---love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is delicious! I also add almond extract and/or lemon zest and juice. This also works very well with a gluten free cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I was on the hunt for a delicious lemon poppy seed cake recipe, and was thrilled to find this. What a fantastic cake -- and extremely moist! I happened to make a few modifications which included using a lemon cake mix instead of a yellow mix, and then added gated lemon peel and the juice of 1 lemon to the batter. It baked up beautifully and tasted divine! Thanks for sharing... I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Awesome and so easy to make,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was a really good & easy cake to make. I actually made 1/2 and put it in a loaf pan (I just put the package of cake mix on my food scale and dumped out 1/2 the weight into a bowl). I added 1/2 tsp. of lemon extract (and halved the other ingredients). It's not really designed to be a loaf cake as it was extremely moist and fluffy and when slicing sometimes the slices would fall and break in half (usually loaf cakes are firmer). Still, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I used lemon cake mix and egg whites and added 1 tsp lemon extract. I sprinkled powdered sugar on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good & moist. I added 1 tsp. almond extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michilinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe - and very forgiving too. I realized after I had begun to prepare it that I only had 1/4 c. oil, so I used that, and added 2-3 T butter, melted, and 1/2 c water. I wanted to use up the sour cream I had, so it was probably between 1-1 1/4 c sour cream. I only used 2 T poppy seeds for our personal tastes, and lastly I added 1 tsp each of vanilla, almond, and lemon extracts to the batter - my favorite combination. I sprayed my bundt pan thoroughly with cooking spray and sugared it per the instructions, and the cake released from the pan beautifully. It was done for me at 50 min. I glazed it with about 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 2 T butter, melted, a tsp each of vanilla, almond, and lemon extracts (again), and a little water to get the consistency I wanted. All these little accidents added up to a fabulous cake, so I will probably do it exactly the same way again! But I do not think you could do anything to keep this cake from being scrumptious. My daughter declared it "deeeee-licious". Thanks for a great recipe. Good way to use up that cake mix I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Where are 6 stars when you need them? This cake is delicious - moist and wonderful flavor. I followed the recipe to a T and couldn't be more pleased. I did a lemon glaze and drizzled it over the warm cake. Really impressed the family - thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was worth making, fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States