Poppy Seed Bundt Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I grew up with this cake recipe -- asked a friend for it in Jr High. I soo love that this is NOT another cake mix!!! Yeah Rosalinda!! I used less poppy seed and sometimes used some sour cream or some almond extract. Great recipe to vary for the "flavour of the day!!" Moist and rich texture - not all air and crumbly. Just lovely with the cinnamon sugar. I can eat way too much too fast.... For those who are used to cake mixes -- don't expect that with this lovely cake. It has a nice pleasant straight up flavour. Oh, I have even used some of the cinnamon sugar as a swirl in the middle -- pour in half of the batter and then a layer of sugar and then the rest of the batter. With some on the outside and inside, adds pronouncement to the cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was a very tasty cake. came out of the oven beautifully. I used 3/4 cup of poppy seeds and soaked them over night in the milk, next time I will blend half of them up in my coffe grinder, to help release the flavours. I did add 1/4 cup of sour cream and I doubled the vanilla, and found that the cake really does tast better the next day. I frosted with a milk chocolate frosting and it was a divine combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisshoddinott83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
We thought this cake was ok. Nothing really wrong with it, it was moist and had a nice "crust". But it just didn't "wow" us. Probably won't make it again so I can keep looking for a poppy seed cake that has the wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I have made this recipe 3 times now and I have gotten compliments each time. The second time I made it, I increased the vanilla extract to 2 tsp. The third time I made it I didn't have enough vanilla, so I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract. All three ways were quite tasty, but my husband and I liked variation #2 the best. This will become one of my "go to" recipes. The cake is moist and dense with a hint of cinnamon. It is a wonderful change from the standard chocolate or white cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Solid bundt cake. I make this every year at Christmas, adding a teaspoon of cardamom to make a delicious cardamom-poppy seed cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
It was okay; I didn't love it. It was dense and moist but had a peculiar flavor. I did make substitutions - I wanted to make it non-dairy, so I used margarine instead of butter and soy milk + lemon juice instead of buttermilk. And I didn't use cinnamon because I don't like it. Tested ready at 40 minutes in the oven. Came out looking beautiful - love the sugar crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is a delicious and moist cake. Loved by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I loved this but like me I never follow anything exactly. I used 3/4 c. of poppy seeds and almond extract as well as vanilla and use just sugar to coat the pan not cinnamon sugar and no layers, I did it in mini loaf pans so I could portion control so I only baked them for 25 min. If they were smaller I could have done it in mini muffin tins 15 or 10 min. Thank You so much I have a favorite for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Excellent! Moist and dense, with a light tender crumb. The cinnamon flavour is very subtle. I used 2 3/4 cups of cake and pastry flour instead of all-purpose, increased the poppy seeds to 1/2 cup, and added 2 tablespoons of vanilla sugar to the buttermilk/poppy seed mixture. The cake tested done at 45 minutes. Should start checking at 40 minutes. Used a 12 cup bundt pan, and the cake, after cooling, was fairly deep. I added a vanilla glaze after the cake had cooled. A definite thumb's up from everyone who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I received rave reviews about this cake at work. This was my first "from scratch" cake and it came out perfect! The title is deceiving though...look at the ingredients. While there are certainly poppy seeds, there's much more flavor. The only catch to this cake is that when using a multi-patterned cake pan, it is hard to see the design for the dark cinnamon crust. I am making a version without the crust now to see if it works. (I will miss the crust though, it was sooo good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States