Poppy Seed Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I did not have butter flavoring so I used Cointreau in the bread and extra almond flavoring in the glaze. I baked one loaf 55 minutes and the other about 63 (different sized loaf pans). It is very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Not a fan. WAY too much sugar and it turned out hard and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I LOVE THIS! I didn't have poppyseed because it is so fricking expensive, so I got one of those little jars of poppyseed filling you use for cookies, and used the whole thing. I had to bake it like 15 minutes longer. Otherwise, I made it just like the recipe said to, and with the glaze, WOW! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fabulous. The only thing I will do differently next time is double the poppy seeds. I used mini loaf pans, and the recipe made five generous loaves. (You could make six smaller loaves.) For the small pans it took about 45 - 50 minutes to bake. If you don't care much for almond flavor you might want to reduce the amount of almond extract, but for me it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe. My husband raved about it as he is a poppy seed bread lover. I made it with unrefined coconut oil and it could not be tasted in the bread if that is a concern for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is an old standby in our family, I have an ancient newspaper clipping featuring it. They called it Amish Poppy Seed Bread. It's the best ever made just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Love the sound of it but . . . I live in New Zealand and have never heard of butter extract. Can I just use melted butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
this turned out pretty good but, just a word of warning to anyone who is still working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I was given this recipe about 25 years ago, and it was the best poppy seed bread I've ever had - then about 5 years ago I lost the recipe and had lost track of the source person! Thank goodness I thought to look here - I knew someone would have posted it. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I can't say enough good things about this bread. Every time I've made it it has been delicious, and anytime I make it for company, I'm hounded mercilessly until I give them a copy of the recipe. I only have two comments to make about the recipe: I always increase the amount of poppy seeds up to 3 tablespoons. I consistently find that the baking time should be increased as well. It usually takes at least 70 minutes for both loaves to get done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States