Poppy Seed and Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Smell wonderful, look wonderful...taste great! Love how healthy these muffins are! I used maple syrup in place of honey (didn't have any honey) and bulgur wheat in place of wheat germ. I doubled the recipe but only used 1/3 cup poppy seeds per reviews. Mine came out a little dry--I baked for 25 min. but will check at 20 next time. I also added raisins for a little extra sweetness and sprinkled tops with cinnamon/sugar mixture before baking. YUM! And..healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These were great! I made them exactly as called for and they tasted perfect. My whole family loved them including the two teenagers. Its wonderful to find a healthy & low cal alternative to those huge store muffins. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I made these according to what I had on hand. They are very good and not too sweet which I like. I didn't have wheat germ so I left that out. I filled my lacking 1 cup of bananas to the top with yogurt and cut the poppyseeds in half. I added raisins and that tastes good too because it adds some sweetness. They turned out moist for me, probably because I left out the wheat germ. I will be making these again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
These were really good. Not quite as moist as desireable, but perhaps that was because I didn't have any germ so I added ground flax instead. They have great flavor and chewy texture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
We made these as written (I forgot to read the reviews until the muffins were already in the oven). My kids are gobbling them up and asking for more. I agree that the poppy seeds are overkill and would probably use about 1/2 the amount next time. Otherwise maybe I'll make some of the changes recommended but we all thought they were good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnt Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I like these muffins for healthy non-sweet breakfast. I used ground flax seed instead of wheat germ, maple syrup instead of honey just because I didn't have wheat germ and honey on hand. I added 1 tsp of vanilla. It turned out very good! It is not as moist as I expected but it's still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
These are an excellent way to start off your day. I am going to make these again and maybe add some blueberries too. This is not a sweet muffin (if that is what you are looking for), but it is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great muffin. I added vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg as someone else suggested. I will definetly make them again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
really tasty! i would use a little bit more banana just to bring out that flavor. on a side note, i could not find wheat bran ANYWHERE, so i ended up buying wheat bran cereal and crushing it up. it worked okay. probably would be even better if i could find the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These muffins were so light and delicious. I will definatley be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perranporth, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Lanzarote, Canarias, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States