Poppy Seed and Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
These were good but not wonderful. I didn't have milk so I subbed fat free yogurt. I also didn't use the oil but half sour cream and half applesauce. I also added a little cinnamon. I made a topping of a little brown sugar and crushed honey nut chex cereal. They were very moist, but very lacking in flavor. The topping was the only thing that had much flavor. IF I made them again, I would definitely add more flavorings, like vanilla or banana extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I usually love bran muffins, but these were just dense and not very flavorful. I even added vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg to some of them and that didn't make them much better. These just aren't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very boring flavor. Not sweet at all. I even added 3T brown sugar to the honey. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
These were pretty good. I think you could make them a bit more healthy by substituting the oil with apple sauce. I didn't have any lemon juice so I had to omit that ingredient, it would probably add a nice pop though. I think the muffins was a bit heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These muffins are great! I made a few changes. I used a 1/2 cup of ground flax seed instead of wheat germ. I used 1 tsp of vanilla instead of the 2 tsp of lemon juice. I made 13 muffins instead of 12 and only baked them for 20 minutes. They are moist, not too sweet and they contain healthy ingredients - definitely a make again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiaLynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This recipe is good but I'm afraid it needs a bit of tweeking. Next time I will add more lemon at least double the amount called for as I couldn't taste the lemon at all. I may put in some lemon zest too. I found them a bit dry so I'll probably add more milk and lastly I would add either quite a bit more honey or some sugar as they are not sweet at all. I really liked the texture and it was nice to have a healthy muffin for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
A very hearty & healthy muffin! I found it very moist and it had the right amount of sweetness. I didn't change a thing and I would for sure make again. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Hearty. Really good with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These are very yummy!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Excellent. I opted to go half whole wheat, half white flour -- based on reviews complaining of dry texture. Buttermilk was used in place of milk and lemon juice. I was low on poppyseeds so used 1/6 cup instead, which I thought was perfect. Keep an eye on your oven, my batch baked in 15 minutes. I was surprised how moist these were. and just the perfect amount of sweetness. These were great with a little pat of butter on top. The recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States