Poppy Seed and Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I thought that the original recipe would be too heavy in texture, so I replaced wheat bran with white flour and wheat germ with ground flax. I also replaced milk with almond milk and half of honey with agave syrup. I didn't add as many poppy seeds because I just didn't have enough. The muffins were pretty big in size, moderately moist and mildly sweet. We will be making them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Wonderful, esp low in fats and added sugars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very healthy, used half regular flour and half white wheat - excellent consistency. Doesn't taste overly like banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Great muffins. I substituted 3/4 cup white flour for wheat flour, added a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and lemon zest to the dry ingredients. As well as added 1/4 tsp. of vanilla to the wet ingredients. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I thought it was a great recipe. I used another suggestion and added half whole wheat and half white flour. I doubled the recipe, but used only half the oil. Instead of the rest of the oil I added apple sauce. It came out nice and fluffy. I used half the suggested poppy seeds as recommended by others. This was a good amount. I added some raisins, nutmeg, cloves and cinnimon. Next time I'll add more of these and some sugar. I like my muffins a bit sweeter. Served great with a bit of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Made it just as directed, except, wait, used flax seed instead of poppy seeds and that gave it a great little crunch. Wonderful hearty breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I changed it up a bit: 1/6 cup poppy seeds, 1 teaspoon vanilla, used soy milk instead of regular, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, a dash of all spice, dash of cloves, used 1/8 cup of oil and 1/8 cup of apple sauce, and lastly, threw in some chopped walnuts. Great texture! Didn't need 25 minutes to bake... more like 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I'm always on the lookout for a healthier muffin - these were great and very filling! They are definitely not overly sweet, so if you prefer a cake-like muffin, this might not be the recipie for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great healthy alternative. I substituted Flax meal for the wheat germ as one suggested. I didn't have honey, so used 1/2 cup organic sugar, I also added 2 tsp vanilla extract. I also did half the amount of poppy seeds which was enough as another suggested. After baking, I thought it might be too "healthy" for the family, since they are used to the cake muffins, so I added an orange glaze made of orange juice concentrate, powdered sugar and a touch of milk and drizzled it on. They loved it and didn't even notice that it was "healthy". Shhhhh... don't tell them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
These were good but not wonderful. I didn't have milk so I subbed fat free yogurt. I also didn't use the oil but half sour cream and half applesauce. I also added a little cinnamon. I made a topping of a little brown sugar and crushed honey nut chex cereal. They were very moist, but very lacking in flavor. The topping was the only thing that had much flavor. IF I made them again, I would definitely add more flavorings, like vanilla or banana extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States