Poppy Seed and Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe was great! I added frozen blueberries instead of poppy seeds - so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Too many poppy seeds, but other then that, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I try not change too much in a recipe the first time, but we just can't help it. I added an extra banana(I had too many ripe ones), I substituted buttermilk for milk and lemon juice, and agave nectar for the honey & 1 teaspoon each of butter extract(Bakers need to check this extract out!), and vanilla. In the dry goods I added 1/2 cup of flax seed meal,along with 1 tsp cinnamon, 1tsp cardomon. I cut the poppy seeds back to 2 1/2 TBL I also added at the end 1 & 1/2 cup frozen blueberries and 1/2 chopped walnuts. Delicious. Just the right amount of sweetness due to the extra banana, and now it almost needs 1/4 cup more flour so the the paper will peel off. A definite keeper. Very healthy. One could also add raisins or another dried fruit. The only thing I don't like is the oil, but next time I will use half walnut oil half veg oil. It made 17 muffins that I cooked for 23 minutes. If one wants more sweetness, try adding a streusel topping before baking-1/3 c brown sugar, 2 T flour, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1 T soft butter. Kind of defeats the healthy part tho!) Thanks swimmerv1! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Our new favorite muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
As written the muffin did not have flavor and there were too many poppy seeds. With butter they are edible. They were moist, but just tasted like you forgot to add the sugar. I'm sure with applesauce instead of oil they would be sweeter, but you might even need more than that. 20 minutes slightly overcooked them in my oven, check them in 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Love these! I add a little more honey, and a few chocolate chips for fun. I also use less poppy seeds. I add vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg for a little more flavor. Everyone from my 5 year old daughter to my husband and parents, we all love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joiselene
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These turned out very bland and definitely not sweet enough, even with very ripe bananas. I tried to save the recipe by adding a sugar topping after they were baked: dip the muffins in 1/4 cup melted butter, then dip in 1/4 cup of sugar mixed with 1 tsp cinnamon. It helped add some sweetness but still not enough. I also tried putting half the poppy seeds as some people had recommended but I think the full amount would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
+ healthy. - not very sweet. David only ate one from the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I added 1/4 cup Splenda since reviews suggested that they could use a bit more sweetness. I also cut back on the poppy seeds. I would not make these again. Even for a healthy option I thought they were bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe. Just add 1/2 of natural sugar and I usually substitute the wheat bran for Malt-o-meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States