Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I tried the popovers. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Couldn't be much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
The key to successful popovers is several things as others have noted. Preheat oven and pan, use cooking spray such as PAM on hot pan, use room temperature ingredients, and most importantly, don't over mix the batter!!! Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Love love love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Perfect as written. Didn't use room-temp anything, didn't preheat the pan (just the oven), and they were gorgeous. I baked them the full 40 minutes, too. But I used a convection oven. Maybe that was the trick? I also poked them with a skewer right out of the oven, and they stayed inflated for hours. They got cold but remained delicious all morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I was apprehensive about making these as I had never made popovers before, but much to my amazement these turned out exactly as they were supposed to...puffy and delicious! However, I gave the recipe only 4 stars because of the omission in the directions of using room temperature milk and eggs and pre-heating the pan. If I had not read others' reviews I wonder if the popovers would have turned out as good. In any case, these are easy, inexpensive, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Great recipe..a few things I have learned over time...be sure all ingredients are room temperature, pre heat the tins prior to using (till very hot, pull them out, grease them and then pour the popover mix in) and last but not least, do not open the oven door to check on them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Great base for popovers. I use this recipe and add browned sausage and garlic in the popover pan first and then smoked mozzarella cheese and then the popover recipe and it comes out fantastic. Great for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Came out beautiful! Everyone loved them and they were a big hit. I only baked them for 15 minutes the second time on 350 instead of the 20 minutes recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is very similar to the Jordan Pond house Recipe -- JPH in Acadia National Park has been making the most incredible popovers on earth since the 19th century. They recommend making the batter a day before then cover and refrigerate overnight, then take out an hour before baking. Also bake at 450 for 14 minutes, 350 for 15 minutes. The warmer the pan, the better the rise. I grease the pan with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbandit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States