Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elaina Bills
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
These didn't turn out well for me. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I don't know if it's the altitude at which I live, or what, but these did not rise at all. They came out looking more like biscuits. :( Any advice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaina Bills

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I've never attempted popovers before (until now) and they turned out great! I made them exactly the way the recipe was written. I didn't have popover tins, so I used ramekins, with perfect results. We ate ours with bacon and eggs. Delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Yum, turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
super simple recipe. I always add cheese to my popovers. About a cup for this recipe mixed in with the batter and it seems to sink to the bottom and give a crispy texture that pops out of the tins better. If you want you could fill this with a custard or whipped cream for desert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Adams Bauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Absolutely love these. Recipe is perfect as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Wilkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Didn't work at all for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The popovers puffed up nicely (though I did preheat the pan), but the recipe makes for a very bland popover. The next batch I did, I added pepper and garlic and some cheese, which made them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Murdoch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was my first attempt at popovers and I was so very nervous! Like other reviewers I didn't have a popover pan so I used my muffin tin. Mine popped, but not as high as I'd like, mainly I feel because my pan wasn't preheated hot enough (will definitely make sure they're hotter next time). I allowed all the ingredients to come to room temperature and did heat the milk slightly. I sprayed the tins and put a tiny pat of butter in the bottom of each one. My batter actually sat for more than an hour, after mixing by a hand mixer until smooth. I know some of the other reviews stated that alone the popovers were bland, but mine were perfect! Crisp on the outside, soft and tender on the inside, with a slight hint of the egg. Not mushy in the least. I baked mine for 15 min at 400 and then another 15 at 350 but my oven runs extremely hot and is quirky. I served these fresh and hot out of the oven with honey butter, DELICIOUS!!! So happy my venture into popovers turned out great, this recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great recipe, easy to make ! Tip: bring milk and eggs to room temperature before starting. Perfect popovers all the time !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States