Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These were very easy to make and excellent - made the cinnamon honey butter from Allrecipes too. My husband loved them just like our favorite restaurant's. They did get done a lot faster than recipe called for but just kept my eye on them. Will defintely make again (my husband wants them tomorrow again)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
As simple as it was to assemble, I was surprised to see that after 20mins at 450F, my popovers were totally burnt. Since I have a brand new oven that has a built-in digital thermometer, I KNOW that it wasn't running "hot". Watch them closely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
i don't know what happened, they didn't grow at all. but they tasted quite good. are you sure there isn't any butter in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alia Haig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe but I took a star off because I had to modify the cooking time. If I baked them for the indicated time they would have been blackened pieces of charcoal. I baked them at 440 (I seem to have a hot oven) for about 8 minutes and then at 350 for another 8 minutes. They turned out perfect, just like my Grandmother would make when I was little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Perfect. Easy. The family devours these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This came out perfectly! Crispy crust and soft inside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheffSol
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
the secret is to have the ingredient @ room temperature. Preheat pan @ 450 Deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheffSol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was a great popover recipe! They puffed up beautifully and were hollow inside, just like a popover. Note: If you don't have a popover pan, use your muffin pans. Butter the insides and the top of the pans well or use a muffin liner and brush butter in them prior to putting the batter in. Know your oven, adjust the time as needed, and watch them towards the end. You need a high heat to get them rising and airy, so don't skip that step! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j9kapolei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
A great, dependable recipe. I make them in muffin tins (which I grease and then leave in the oven as it's preheating) and they turn out amazing! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
YES. I have made these many times, the lower the kitchen humidity seems better (like Fall and Winter!) PRE-HEAT oven for 30 minutes...Very important. Mine are 3 xl eggs room temp, 2 c. milk room temp.(2%, 2 c. unbleached flour, 1/2 t. Kosher salt. Room temp. seems to help. The night before on the counter is Fine for eggs and milk. Whip eggs lightly, add milk slowly, add flour and salt. In all it takes 30 seconds!!! Or less. Have Popover pan (Bed, Bath and Beyond, $12.00) sprayed with regular Pam. Pour 2/3 full. Bake as directed. Have some nice butter and French Jam ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sduer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States