Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe but I took a star off because I had to modify the cooking time. If I baked them for the indicated time they would have been blackened pieces of charcoal. I baked them at 440 (I seem to have a hot oven) for about 8 minutes and then at 350 for another 8 minutes. They turned out perfect, just like my Grandmother would make when I was little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Perfect. Easy. The family devours these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This came out perfectly! Crispy crust and soft inside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheffSol
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
the secret is to have the ingredient @ room temperature. Preheat pan @ 450 Deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheffSol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was a great popover recipe! They puffed up beautifully and were hollow inside, just like a popover. Note: If you don't have a popover pan, use your muffin pans. Butter the insides and the top of the pans well or use a muffin liner and brush butter in them prior to putting the batter in. Know your oven, adjust the time as needed, and watch them towards the end. You need a high heat to get them rising and airy, so don't skip that step! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j9kapolei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
A great, dependable recipe. I make them in muffin tins (which I grease and then leave in the oven as it's preheating) and they turn out amazing! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
YES. I have made these many times, the lower the kitchen humidity seems better (like Fall and Winter!) PRE-HEAT oven for 30 minutes...Very important. Mine are 3 xl eggs room temp, 2 c. milk room temp.(2%, 2 c. unbleached flour, 1/2 t. Kosher salt. Room temp. seems to help. The night before on the counter is Fine for eggs and milk. Whip eggs lightly, add milk slowly, add flour and salt. In all it takes 30 seconds!!! Or less. Have Popover pan (Bed, Bath and Beyond, $12.00) sprayed with regular Pam. Pour 2/3 full. Bake as directed. Have some nice butter and French Jam ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sduer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I love this recipe. I've been using the Betty Crocker recipe for several years - which is exactly the same as this one. I also saw Rachel Ray has this same recipe too. Can't fix what's not broke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very easy recipe. Following advice of other posters I reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp., let the batter sit for about half an hour, added a dab of butter to each cup, and reduced the time at 350 by 10 minutes. Came out perfect. Wish I had 2 pans to make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
These popovers turned out pretty yummy; they kind of tasted like french toast. I was expected the outside to be crispy, but it still tasted pretty good. You definitely have to eat them ASAP, because they start deflating outside the oven. Also, be sure to watch them after 20 min. My oven doesn't heat evenly, so I had to remove a couple golden-brown ones and let the rest bake a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States