Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Didn't work at all for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The popovers puffed up nicely (though I did preheat the pan), but the recipe makes for a very bland popover. The next batch I did, I added pepper and garlic and some cheese, which made them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Murdoch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was my first attempt at popovers and I was so very nervous! Like other reviewers I didn't have a popover pan so I used my muffin tin. Mine popped, but not as high as I'd like, mainly I feel because my pan wasn't preheated hot enough (will definitely make sure they're hotter next time). I allowed all the ingredients to come to room temperature and did heat the milk slightly. I sprayed the tins and put a tiny pat of butter in the bottom of each one. My batter actually sat for more than an hour, after mixing by a hand mixer until smooth. I know some of the other reviews stated that alone the popovers were bland, but mine were perfect! Crisp on the outside, soft and tender on the inside, with a slight hint of the egg. Not mushy in the least. I baked mine for 15 min at 400 and then another 15 at 350 but my oven runs extremely hot and is quirky. I served these fresh and hot out of the oven with honey butter, DELICIOUS!!! So happy my venture into popovers turned out great, this recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great recipe, easy to make ! Tip: bring milk and eggs to room temperature before starting. Perfect popovers all the time !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Best popover recipe ever! Thank you so much for posting it. Light and airy........just perfect. I did add some chopped chives and maybe 4 tablespoons of freshly grated gruyere cheese. I had tried another recipe I found on pinterest and they were heavy and doughy. I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Goodman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
love these they go nice with a salad thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe..Omg! Loved it was easy they puffed up nicely & totally held the puff when they cooled. I used two different topings/ fillings. 1st was a cinnamon-honey butter 2nd I cut a slight criss cut on top & piped inside of them cool whip...my family loved both & they stayed firm on outside soft on the inside. "WINNER" in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Daniels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I doubled the recipe and made it in cupcake pans. Our family of four completely ate all of them with jam/butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my go-to recipe when the hubby isn't home. He hates popovers and I love them and this recipe works great. I follow the recipe exactly except I don't have popover forms. I use my mini muffin pan and fill the vessels almost full and they puff up really well. I put a dab of butter and the results are wonderful. Thanks for a great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drewdoc
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These turned out great, especially with the cinnamon honey butter recipe from this site. I did make sure to preheat my oven with the pans in, then added a pat of butter to each custard cup just before pouring the batter. I didn't bother greasing and flouring the cups. I also added some vanilla (1/2 tsp or so) as others suggested. I posted two pics attached to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States