Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I've never attempted popovers before (until now) and they turned out great! I made them exactly the way the recipe was written. I didn't have popover tins, so I used ramekins, with perfect results. We ate ours with bacon and eggs. Delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Yum, turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
super simple recipe. I always add cheese to my popovers. About a cup for this recipe mixed in with the batter and it seems to sink to the bottom and give a crispy texture that pops out of the tins better. If you want you could fill this with a custard or whipped cream for desert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Adams Bauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Absolutely love these. Recipe is perfect as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Wilkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Didn't work at all for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The popovers puffed up nicely (though I did preheat the pan), but the recipe makes for a very bland popover. The next batch I did, I added pepper and garlic and some cheese, which made them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Murdoch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was my first attempt at popovers and I was so very nervous! Like other reviewers I didn't have a popover pan so I used my muffin tin. Mine popped, but not as high as I'd like, mainly I feel because my pan wasn't preheated hot enough (will definitely make sure they're hotter next time). I allowed all the ingredients to come to room temperature and did heat the milk slightly. I sprayed the tins and put a tiny pat of butter in the bottom of each one. My batter actually sat for more than an hour, after mixing by a hand mixer until smooth. I know some of the other reviews stated that alone the popovers were bland, but mine were perfect! Crisp on the outside, soft and tender on the inside, with a slight hint of the egg. Not mushy in the least. I baked mine for 15 min at 400 and then another 15 at 350 but my oven runs extremely hot and is quirky. I served these fresh and hot out of the oven with honey butter, DELICIOUS!!! So happy my venture into popovers turned out great, this recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great recipe, easy to make ! Tip: bring milk and eggs to room temperature before starting. Perfect popovers all the time !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Best popover recipe ever! Thank you so much for posting it. Light and airy........just perfect. I did add some chopped chives and maybe 4 tablespoons of freshly grated gruyere cheese. I had tried another recipe I found on pinterest and they were heavy and doughy. I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Goodman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States