Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Great recipe..a few things I have learned over time...be sure all ingredients are room temperature, pre heat the tins prior to using (till very hot, pull them out, grease them and then pour the popover mix in) and last but not least, do not open the oven door to check on them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Great base for popovers. I use this recipe and add browned sausage and garlic in the popover pan first and then smoked mozzarella cheese and then the popover recipe and it comes out fantastic. Great for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Came out beautiful! Everyone loved them and they were a big hit. I only baked them for 15 minutes the second time on 350 instead of the 20 minutes recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is very similar to the Jordan Pond house Recipe -- JPH in Acadia National Park has been making the most incredible popovers on earth since the 19th century. They recommend making the batter a day before then cover and refrigerate overnight, then take out an hour before baking. Also bake at 450 for 14 minutes, 350 for 15 minutes. The warmer the pan, the better the rise. I grease the pan with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbandit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Easy to make and came out great. I followed the recommendations and use room temperature milk and eggs as well as preheating the pan. I also cooked them @ 450 for 20 min and the reduced heat to 350 and cooked for another 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
So easy! I didn't bother preheating the muffin tin. I used PAM spray and added one extra egg. I also cut down on the cooking time a bit. They rose and were so light and airy that my family demolished the entire dozen within 15 minutes. I'm sure that the batter was "over mixed" as my 8 year daughter was helping me make them. I think the extra egg helped. They slid out of the muffin tins without a problem. I'm sure other recipes produce delicious popovers as well, but this version really made things so simple that we'll be cooking them much more frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent and easy recipe. This was the first time I made popovers and they came out wonderful. I used butter to liberally grease the muffin tin and then also sprayed with cooking spray being sure to cover the top of the tin as well (I did not flour the tin). The popovers removed easily. I also reduced the cooking time @450 to 15 mins as the popovers were browning quickly and reduced the time @350 to 15 mins as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I read the reviews before I made these. I let the eggs and milk come to room temp. I added 1 tsp. vanilla. I forgot to preheat the popover pan, but I did add a dab of butter to the bottom of each cup and I coated the top rims of each cup with butter. I preheated the oven. I put them in for 20 minutes, and then watched them when I turned the heat down to 350 and after 10 minutes they were very dark, so I took them out. I'm not sure if they should have been left in a little longer. The outside was very dark and the inside was chewy. Next time I will take the top rack out because they were hitting the top rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and to prepare . We have missed NY popovers here in Chicago. The recipe was just as those popover from Amsterdam Ave. I agree with the need to follow the recipe carefully, particularly the sequence to mix the ingredients. Now, getting fresh fruits mixed well with the butter was a bit more difficult. The popover, nonetheless were just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
They turned out deflated and cooked too quickly on the outside. I have used a few other recipes calling for unsalted butter and the result was a 5-star rating. This particular recipe omits the butter and I think that may be part of the reason for my "Fail" grade. This recipe will be deleted from my list. Suggestion: try other recipes before this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States