Popeye Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Turned out perfectly but I don't think there was enough flavor in the skin to justify the cost of all the ingredients. My skin looked much thicker than the main photo as well. Not sure if that's a good or bad thing. I've never actually had popeye's so I can't speak to the similarity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Awful. No one like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
We've been making this dish since 2007 and everyone who has it absoultely loves it. I can't imagine anyone complaining too many ingredients.. it's what makes it so good. We remove the skin & the Cornflakes makes it crispy and people think they're eating skin. Thanks for this. We are taking it to a friend this weekend @ Hamptons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
You gotta coat in tobas. sauce first then add chey.pepper to coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Been doing this for years....dont compare it to Popeye's...simply call it "spicy cornflake chicken". I trick it out by adding bread crumbs to flour and the crushed cornflakes. For added spice, I add cayenne, ground white pepper and smoked paprika to the flour/cornflake mix. Oh yea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice GrillMaster Burt
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
FANTASTIC chicken!!! Absolutely nothing like Popeyes, but it tastes delicious. Crisp, flavorful, juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
It's good but needs a lot more cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scott_nicholson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is nothing like Popeye's chicken. Popeye's chicken is spicy and very savory. I did leave out the onion soup mix. I was worried about the big flakes of dried onion. I also used large chicken tenders instead of a whole breast, so that I could cook it faster. Not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
it tasted OK at best. This being said, I will say that it tasted NOTHING like Popeyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
this is an excellent clone of popeyes chicken! try it it is better than KC chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States