Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
perfect recipe for cut-out cookies! hold their shape when baking, and melt in your mouth. ice with Sugar Cookie Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Nice, plain cookie and easy to work with. I'd try this one again with something other that the "Sugar Cookie Icing" I used and didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made these cookies and we love them . I took some to the band for the girls and they really loved them. I will be making these again. Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I decorate my cookies with confectioners sugar and milk frosting so there is no need to have a very sweet cookie and I like it best this way. I always struggle to find the right cookie for cutouts because I am definitely NOT a baker. This was good but took some tinkering because I tried to use my mixer for kneading but it was really dry and floury... I added another stick of butter and it did the trick. These are good, I just not as crispy as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
THE BEST SUGAR COOKIES EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These cookies were so good! The whole family loved them. As other reviewers said they were kinda bland, but as a simple valentines cookie they were great for us. To make them a little sweeter, I mixed red food coloring with sugar and generously sprinkled on top of the cookies, but icing would work well, too. If they are crumbly, just keep mixing! I thought mine were too dry, but after another minute or so of mixing (I used an electrical mixer) the dough was perfect for cut-out cookies. The confectioner's sugar is what really makes these cookies different from any others I have made. Thanks for a fast, easy, awesome recipe Jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paradise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have no clue how to cook or bake! I made these and I think they turned out pretty darn well! I also added more vanilla. Received a lot of compliments:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These are not what I expected. To me they had no flavor and were a playdoh texture. I don't think I would serve these to anyone or to family. I may make them once or twice again if in need of a butter cookie, but to me this did not cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great! So easy and fun...not very much like the sweet roll out cookies I'm used to. Very quick and helpful. Thanks Jelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Saunders
Home Town: Bagdad, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These cookies are the best! The dough is quick to make, easy to roll out, no chilling needed, and they taste great! I have been making this recipe for about 13 years now. For Valentine's day I make the heart cutouts with raspberry or strawberry jam and for Christmas I frost them with a peppermint flavored icing. This has become my go-to recipe when I know I need something good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States