Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
perfect recipe for cut-out cookies! hold their shape when baking, and melt in your mouth. ice with Sugar Cookie Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Nice, plain cookie and easy to work with. I'd try this one again with something other that the "Sugar Cookie Icing" I used and didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made these cookies and we love them . I took some to the band for the girls and they really loved them. I will be making these again. Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I decorate my cookies with confectioners sugar and milk frosting so there is no need to have a very sweet cookie and I like it best this way. I always struggle to find the right cookie for cutouts because I am definitely NOT a baker. This was good but took some tinkering because I tried to use my mixer for kneading but it was really dry and floury... I added another stick of butter and it did the trick. These are good, I just not as crispy as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
THE BEST SUGAR COOKIES EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These cookies were so good! The whole family loved them. As other reviewers said they were kinda bland, but as a simple valentines cookie they were great for us. To make them a little sweeter, I mixed red food coloring with sugar and generously sprinkled on top of the cookies, but icing would work well, too. If they are crumbly, just keep mixing! I thought mine were too dry, but after another minute or so of mixing (I used an electrical mixer) the dough was perfect for cut-out cookies. The confectioner's sugar is what really makes these cookies different from any others I have made. Thanks for a fast, easy, awesome recipe Jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paradise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have no clue how to cook or bake! I made these and I think they turned out pretty darn well! I also added more vanilla. Received a lot of compliments:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These are not what I expected. To me they had no flavor and were a playdoh texture. I don't think I would serve these to anyone or to family. I may make them once or twice again if in need of a butter cookie, but to me this did not cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great! So easy and fun...not very much like the sweet roll out cookies I'm used to. Very quick and helpful. Thanks Jelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Saunders
Home Town: Bagdad, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These cookies are the best! The dough is quick to make, easy to roll out, no chilling needed, and they taste great! I have been making this recipe for about 13 years now. For Valentine's day I make the heart cutouts with raspberry or strawberry jam and for Christmas I frost them with a peppermint flavored icing. This has become my go-to recipe when I know I need something good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States