Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Okay cookies. Nice because it's not overly sweet, but not a whole lot of flavor either. Good dough for rolling and cutting out; great for kids to decorate. We still ate them all though :) Did not refrigerate the dough and worked fine with extra tbsp of milk, although it seemed super crumbly at first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Pretty easy to make. The Dow can be kind of dry so it is a little bit of a pain to get spread out to cut. Other than that, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Addictive! These taste like shortbread. Made these with my daughter for her class valentines party and we had never made rolled cookies before. Reminds me of working with pie dough because you have to play a bit with the ratio of milk to flour to get the right consistency of dough. If you roll out on parchment and take the "scraps" off and bake the cookies on the parchment paper then it is a bit more forgiving if your dough is a little too sticky at first.They turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
perfect recipe for cut-out cookies! hold their shape when baking, and melt in your mouth. ice with Sugar Cookie Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Nice, plain cookie and easy to work with. I'd try this one again with something other that the "Sugar Cookie Icing" I used and didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made these cookies and we love them . I took some to the band for the girls and they really loved them. I will be making these again. Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I decorate my cookies with confectioners sugar and milk frosting so there is no need to have a very sweet cookie and I like it best this way. I always struggle to find the right cookie for cutouts because I am definitely NOT a baker. This was good but took some tinkering because I tried to use my mixer for kneading but it was really dry and floury... I added another stick of butter and it did the trick. These are good, I just not as crispy as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
BEST SUGAR COOKIES I'VE EVER HAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These cookies were so good! The whole family loved them. As other reviewers said they were kinda bland, but as a simple valentines cookie they were great for us. To make them a little sweeter, I mixed red food coloring with sugar and generously sprinkled on top of the cookies, but icing would work well, too. If they are crumbly, just keep mixing! I thought mine were too dry, but after another minute or so of mixing (I used an electrical mixer) the dough was perfect for cut-out cookies. The confectioner's sugar is what really makes these cookies different from any others I have made. Thanks for a fast, easy, awesome recipe Jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paradise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have no clue how to cook or bake! I made these and I think they turned out pretty darn well! I also added more vanilla. Received a lot of compliments:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

No Bake Cookies V

Chocolate oatmeal cookies that don't require oven time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States