Popcorn Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
added a touch of lime juice, cinnamon & sugar, then microwaved it all w kernels in brown paper bag. Drastically reduced the quantity of spices bc going on one batch of popcorn. Omitted yeast and celery bc the other flavors lean toward Indian cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great mix of flavors and I will make again. Sprinkled sparingly on buttered popcorn, and a little goes a long way. Next time though I will cut back on the salts because it was too salty for me. Maybe some garlic powder instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I am not a huge fan of curry but I went with it anyway and was glad I did. There's just so much going on in this seasoning - a little cheesy, a little spicy, a little out of the ordinary. I also didn't have celery salt or garlic salt so just used half onion powder and half garlic powder. It was so yummy, I was trying to get it all out of the bowl when I was done with the popcorn and then thinking about what else I could use as an excuse to put it on. It is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Wonderful combination of flavors to perk up regular 'ol popcorn! And just as the submitter states, it garlicky with a slight smoky flavor. I cut the recipe in half to give it a try and used garlic powder vs. garlic salt I also used smoked paprika vs. regular for some extra smokiness. Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is really a delicious combination of seasonings. I sprayed just the lightest bit of canola oil on the popcorn with my Misto to help the seasoning coat the popcorn better. It's addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I did't have brewers yeast so I left it out and didn't have garlic so I used garlic powder and table salt. I used a little too much salt, but other than that it was delicious!! Way better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I played with this mostly to reduce salt. I used 4 T nutritional yeast (cuz I had it on hand), 1 T garlic powder, 1 T celery salt. For paprika I used spicy Hungarian so left out the cayenne. Blended it up in mini chopper. Made this up to have on hand but my taste test was so good I made popcorn immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I did not have garlic salt or celery salt so I used garlic powder and Beau Monde seasoning. (Beau Monde seasoning is basically celery salt and onion powder) I cut this recipe back to make one batch for one bowl of air popped popcorn. I tossed my popcorn with a mixture of EVOO and butter, then sprinkled the spice mix over my popcorn. I really liked the combination of the cumin, curry and cayenne with the salty-parmesan-ish flavor of the Brewer's yeast. Brewer's yeast on popcorn is one of my favorite treats so I knew I was in for something good. Next time I make this, I'd cut back on the Beau Monde. For me, it was a little too salty and the celery flavor overpowered everything else. Good spice mix--very different but in a surprizing way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States