Popa's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I don't like pickled eggs. Well, before I made these I didn't, not any longer! These were terrific except for the fact that they weren't hot enough for us. I pickled for 2 days & cut up some of the peppers. Hoping longer will give me what I need, more Heat! Thank you BD, THESE ROCK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made for the PNW Round Up, these eggs were a hit! I didn't think I'd like them as I don't generally like hot foods. However, there is just something about these pickled eggs that I can't stay away from. I ate 3 in row. Yum! They're easy to make and really has a gourmet payoff! My two sons devoured the remainder of them (5 out of 24) after the Get-Together. I'll be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I not only got to try these at the PNW AR Round-Up but I graciously got to meet the man himself that submitted these. OH man where they good. I couldn't wait to get home and make these for my hubby. So after I talked to bd_weld about his recipe and telling me I could easily do a dozen, I did a dozen and a half. I'm finding it hysterical on my part when making the recipe, I used the really hot yellow peppers with brine and a pickling mix offered from my store because it was way cheaper then buying the Morton's. Should have gone with that because, little did I realize how loaded with dried whole red Serranos and thought, ohh what the heck, HA!! on my hubby because he said they were fantastic but...WOOO!! what a kick. I ate the yoke out of several and hmm good, so I didn't get the intense heat from the egg whites themselves... he sure did. What a great addition to my household. Will look for the milder hot peppers with brine for the next time for my children. But they seemed to like them as well. TY Brian!! we love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I have never had pickled eggs before last weekend at the PNW roundup. The recipe creator happened to attend so that was a double bonus. :) These were very good and when I got home, mentioned to my daughter who has chickens, yet another thing to try with her plethora of eggs. She asked me to send her the recipe, thought I would leave a review for them also as long as I was here. Count on me making some of my own. Can't wait to see what it does to a potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Amazing!!!! I let them soak 4 full days before tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
WARNING: "Popa's Pickled Eggs" are SO ADDICTIVE! Wow! I almost wanted to drink the brine! I could have never imagined that white wine vinegar seasoned with pickling spices and turmeric could create such a wonderful east-meets-west taste sensation. I made my own pickled peppers (Allrecipes, Pickled Hot Peppers, Pam) because I wanted: (i) to use a variety of peppers (not just hot yellow peppers); and (ii) all the brine to be made with white wine vinegar. I also made my own pickling spice (Allrecipes, Homemade Pickling Spice, Mooseinthekitchen). Next time I make "Popa's Pickled Eggs" I will substitute mustard powder for mustard seed in the pickling spice and tie the spices in a cheese cloth. I had enough brine to cover at least 12 eggs, as noted by bd.weld in his review. Thank you bd.weld for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
While my husband thought these pickled eggs were ok, I on the other hand did not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Photo by cooks4forty
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This was so fun! I loved seeing it "stewing" all week. I had never had a pickled egg before and I really enjoyed it. I used sweet cherry peppers due to a lack of choices at my little store. They are fine, but I am looking forward to a pepper with more heat next time. I added a few dashes of sriracha sauce because my peppers were so mild. I'm making deviled eggs tonight, and will chop a few of the peppers into the filling. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Poppa picked a peck of pickled eggs. Sorry, been saying that in my head since I put this recipe together 6 days ago! These eggs are A-1! What fun to put together. I couldn't find the hot yellow peppers so I used hot pepper rings. I didn't find the end result too spicy and I must add that I do not like tumeric so I was nervous using it but I found that it blended well with the other flavours. I did enjoy the brine very much and found another way to use it in a Canadian Caesar recipe on this site. I just used a splash. The drink actually pairs very well with this snack. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/classic-canadian-caesar/detail.aspx Thanks b.d.weld for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My husband has been asking me for years to find the "just right" pickled egg recipe. I've tried with miserable luck, that is until I tried bd's eggs at the Las Vegas Round Up! Hey, I carted the leftovers home (surprised that were any left!) to California and presented them to my husband, Randy. Bonanza! These were it! I've since made them many time, one dozen at a time. Great for my midafternoon snack or hubbie's cocktail hour appy. I like Marianne's idea for salads, sammies and deviled eggs. Well done, my friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States