Pooter's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is a very good recipe. I add chopped pecans to the batter, and when the cake is finished, I thin powdered sugar with sherry and it makes a wonderful frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This cake is so good! My mom used to make it when we were growning up. It's even better with a butterpowder sugar glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
It's my son's favorite. I added extra sherry instead of the 1/3 c. water and also extra nutmeg. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I took this to share at work and it was eaten up immediately. Everyone commented on how they liked the unusual flavor. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I've made this cake three times in the last week - all at the request of my household! The major changes I made were: 1)I didn't have yellow cake mix, so I substituted spice cake (which worked wonderfully, esp. since it's autumn) and 2) I used approx. 1/4 to 1/2 cup sherry mixed with powdered sugar for a glaze on top while it was still warm. This inevitably soaked through the cake, which made it amazingly moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This cake is wonderful! My Mother has been making Sherry wine cake for years. I needed the ingredients and found this recipe. The name is what caught my eye...also had me laughing. I used Cream Sherry, which I think made a big difference. Our family always used plain sherry. It came out very moist! Got the thumbs up from everyone at Christmas. Our wine cake will be forever known as Pooter's Wine cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
The is one delicious cake, only I omit the water and increase the nutmeg to 1 tsp. It is absolutely delicious and guests devour it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Really good. For using pre-packaged cake and pudding mixes, this is a fantastic dessert. Much better than an average cake. I did substitute "Hardy's Whiskers Blake" port instead of sherry because I like it better than any sherry, but otherwise followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delicious! I also made a glaze with the powdered sugar and a little extra sherry. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States