Poor Man's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was great for a quick meal. I made a low-fat version using ground turkey and low-fat cream of mushroom soup. I used white onions instead of green onions and added canned mushrooms. I also double the sauces for extra flavor. It was served with orzo and fresh cucumbers. The trick with this recipe is layering the flavor, I added each ingredient stirred and cooked and added the soup last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I had ground beef, mushroom soup, and brown rice and needed a recipe to use what I had on hand. PERFECT! Was so easy and the worchestershire and soy sauces gave it a lovely flavor. I did saute chopped regular onion with the beef and added a bit of garlic. I asked my husband if I should make it again and he said, "Definitely!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
we really liked this recipe. i used white rice instead of brown, but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I use onion powder instead of green onions and minute rice instead of brown rice...just for ease of cooking. It's fast and easy to make and doesn't taste like it's out of a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe and my husband really loved it. However I would suggest doubling it if you plan on feeding more than just four people. I thought it would make a lot, however it did not. I think next time I will add green beans to it, or even ram-en noodles. My husband said it reminded him of hamburger helper beef Stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbizz13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Considering I had to edit this to meet with what I had on hand it was really good! I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I substitute smoke flavoring for soy sauce. Been making this a couple years now, and I would have said 4, but my husband requests it so much and can't get enough, so I have to give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
We have made this for years--but we call it "hamburger mush". Never thought of using soy sauce in it before though and like the taste with it in it. We also add some garlic or garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this recipe for poor man's pie; aka, Shepard's pie. I like to use chives and basil, as well as salt and pepper to taste. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
1 lb grd beef, fried with one small onion, salt and pepper, drain fatAdd a cream soup, I use cr of mushroomWith about 1/2 can of milk or water, simmerCook about 1 1/2 cups of raw white rice to make about 3 cups of cooked riceMix together and there you have it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States