Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Turned out great, however, instead of water I used a can of Campbells French Onion broth. Also seasoned the meat and flour for a bit more flavor. Served with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is positively the worst dish I have ever made. I had to ditch it and have my husband pick up some fried chix. To me, it tasted like greasy hamburger meat. I followed the recipe and even took someone else's suggestion of adding beef boullion to the water. I would probably prefer hamburger helper to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
We tried this last night and it was so good and so easy...but it doesn't tell you how much water to use. I added some soy sauce to it too. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Great recipe! My husband loved it! I made it a second time on the stove to save time. It cooks in about 10 minutes on medium heat and tastes just as wonderful. We love it with fettucine alfredo and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My husband really liked this pepper steak. He went back for seconds which means a lot in my household. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and sauteed the peppers, onion, and garlic then poured it over the top. I also added a few beef boulion cubes to the water. I would make this again. It takes forever to cook this meat fork tender so dont try it if your in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I gave this recipe four stars because it was a little bland. But, it is an excellent base dish and can be seasoned with to suit any taste. It is definitley a keeper for our house it gives us something to do with cube steaks other than chicken fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was pretty good and the meat was really tender. Next time I will add some soy sauce and maybe thicken the sauce before serving. I missed that asian edge that most pepper steak recipes seem to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This recipe is so awesome!! My mom made this, but she added a can of stewed tomatoes to the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I've been making this for a while, but instead of water, I use a large (15oz) can of tomato sauce and a spash of worcestershire sauce. This is one of those recipes that you can adapt to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Great way for steak inside, not on grill. It is nice to just throw it in the oven, very easy! However, it has to be done on a night when waiting works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States