Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It smelled like heaven while it was cooking. I used only a little flour (I'm watching my carb intake), mixed with garlic powder, onion powder, basil and oregano and sauteed it in a tbsp. each of evoo and butter. When it was time to cook the peppers, I added 1/2 sliced onion, minced garlic, a little more basil and oregano and a little more evoo, I used one can Campbells beef broth instead of plain water (I read a lot of reviewers thought that adding a bouillion cube was a good addition but I didn't have that on hand, so I used the beef broth instead) and 1/4 c. Burgundy wine and cooked it down. I poured it over the cube steak and then cooked it for an hour and a half. I was really trying to give it another boost of flavor. My family thought this was really good and nothing remained. Cheap to make and really tasty. I served it with Cauliflower with Dijon Sauce and Garlic Rice for my boys. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This gets a 5 star from us. Hubby ate 2 plates full. I did cook this on the stove top and add the suggested beef bouillon cube. I hope my review is still considered by those that read it. It is just to darn hot here in Texas right now to heat up the house with the oven. A keeper for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilysgranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I followed everything to a T and needless to say both my children and my fiance scrapped their plates and the pan! I needed something different and this just hit the spot! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylove0003

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I didn't know how this one would go over with the kids, but they wanted seconds! That's saying a lot because they usually don't like cube steak no matter what I do to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is so good! My family went nuts over this. The only thing I done different was to mix 1 package of Liptons beefy onion dry soup with the 2 cups of water. Scrumptious!!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My family did not like this at all. I would not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Absolutely good! I too cooked this on the stovetop,simmered for about 20 minutes to allow peppers to cook. I added 2 Tbs of gravy master (or worchester sauce?) to brown and season the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
We thought this was pretty bland, even using beef broth instead of water and adding an extra garlic clove as well mushrooms and red peppers. The steak had a mushy outside from cooking in the water, and the veggies were way too done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
don't follow the recipe exactly! This was one of the most bland dishes ever. I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I have t say, this recipe was great. It makes a hearty dinner for four, four about $5! I did make a few changes. I used top round steak, because its cheaper. I also took the other suggestions about using beef broth instead of just water. Also, when I took the pan out of the oven, I used some flour to make a thicker gravy and served over mashed potatoes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States